Reversing Time
Style: Progressive Power Metal
Release date: February 29th 2008

Greek female singer Iris Mavraki and Turkish Prog/Power Metal act Dreamtone joined hands to form the band (or should I say project) Neverland. The debut CD features guests such as Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian), Tom Englund (Evergrey), Mike Baker and Gary Wehrkamp (Shadow Gallery), as well as the Philharmonic Istanbul Orchestra.

You can expect orchestral arranged bombastic tracks, such as "Black Water" and "Mountain of Joy" (hello Rhapsody), while a song as "To Lose the Sun" with Hansi on vocals reminds me of Demons & Wizards. The calm piano song "Everlasting Tranquility" with angelic singing from Iris gives me goose bumps. The singing of Iris along with the good song arrangements and the Orchestral parts takes this record to a higher level. The only negative point is the singing of Dreamtone vocalist Oganalp Canatan, not that he is that bad, but he is the weakest spot. Songs sung by him are less convincing.

If you appreciate music from Avantasia, Demons & Wizards, and Rhapsody of Fire (bombastic parts) and don't get confused by hearing calm piano and acoustic guitars along with high female voices, you should take a listen. You will not be disappointed.

01. Shooting Star
02. To Lose the Sun
03. Mankind is a Lie
04. Everlasting Tranquillity
05. Reversing Time
06. Black Water
07. Mountain of Judgement
08. Mountain of Joy
09. World Beyond These Walls
10. Transcending Miracle
Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target
Artwork rating: 90/100
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: February 27th 2008