Style: Goth metal
Release date: March 28th 2008

I donít know why some promotion companies think itís cool to label music Nordic this and Nordic that when itís in essence just metal or hard rock and has little to do with Nordic sounds apart from a singer who happens to be Norwegian.


But do not let this slight irritation on my behalf lessen the effort of German/Norwegian Midnattsol, who have made a fine piece of versatile metal with a goth touch.


Carmen Elise Espenśs has a voice that distinguishes itself from most other female vocalists in this day and age. Sheís manages to put a lot of atmosphere into what she does, and thus creates an almost spheric feel. I think it could be a case of either you love it or hate it, but Iím definitely intrigued.


The rest of the band creates a solid and varied base from the vocalist, and the sound and mix of the album has been around Mastersound studios, Tue Madsen as well as Finnvox Studios, so there is nothing to complain about there!


Nice one!


01. Open your eyes
02. Skogens lengsel
03. Northern light
04. Konkylie
05. Wintertimes
06. Race of time
07. New horizon
08. River of virgin soil
09. En natt i nord
10. Octobre (Limited Edition)

Label: Napalm Records
Provided by: Napalm Records
Artwork rating: 55/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: April 12th 2008
Website: www.midnattsol.com