Walhalla Wacht
Style: Pagan Folk Metal
Release date: March 28th 2008

Heidevolk is a Pagan Folk Metal band from the province Gelderland in Holland. That the band is proud of their roots,is just listening to their lyrics, an understatement. They are about battles in the period 700 AD, when Franken, Saksen and Frisian (Kening Redbad) ruled the land. The title 'Walhalla Wacht' (Walhalla Awaits) says it all; the place where those who die in battle go. Most of the lyrics have a link with sacrificing yourself for a higher purpose.

Three years after their first release 'De Strijdlust is Geboren' they scored a deal with Napalm Records and if Wodan wants it, they are ready to gain a permanent place in the genre. As you already noticed all lyrics are in Dutch, so for the international breakthrough the music must do the talking. 

Starting with the tempo song "Saksenland", you immediately know what you are dealing with. Easy composed songs with metal riffs and melody, combined with violins, horns and part singing. The band has 2 vocalists and both of them have a clean voice. The different instruments they use are noticed very well because of the solid production. If you like bands like OTYG, Korpiklaani and In Extremo, you might fall for Heidevolk too. 

The track 'Koning Radboud' is supported by nice horn parts, which gives this song just that little bit more. Next to the fast tracks "Wodan Heerst" (already released on a mini-CD) and "Zwaarden Geheven" the song "Hulde aan de Kastelein" is a slow sing-a-long song and is an ode to their favourite guy: the man who serves them the ale. Perfect live-song. 

For a big part I enjoyed the album, except for the 22 voice-overs on the promo in the last 7 tracks. You can exaggerate it. This makes it difficult for a reviewer to concentrate on the music. But nevertheless, you don't find them on the regular album. If you are into Pagan Folk metal and don't mind the Dutch lyrics, try this one out. If you want to see the band live, they play Dokk'em Open air August 9th.

01. Saksenland
02. Koning Radboud
03. Wodan Heerst
04. Hulde aan de Kastelein
05. Walhalla Wacht
06. Opstand der Bataven
07. Het Wilde Heer
08. Naar de Hal der Gevallenen
09. Zwaarden Geheven
10. Dageraad
Label: Napalm Records
Distribution: www.napalmrecords.com
Artwork rating: 70/100
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: March 20th 2008
Website: www.heidevolk.com