Fires of Babylon
Fires of Babylon
Style: US Metal
Release date: April 25th 2008

FIRES OF BABYLON is a project put together by guitarist Lou St. Paul (Winters Bane). The band is completed by Kelly Conlon on bass (Death, Monstrosity), vocalist Rob Rock (Impellitteri, Warrior) and drummer Robert Falzano (Shatter Messiah).


Their self titled debut album has been rotating in my exhausted CD-player for quite some time now... and I like it... no doubt about it. However it needs time to grow. Their music reminds me of Winters Bane... and Firewind comes to mind too on a few songs.


Most of the tracks are quite good especially the outstanding “Devilution” that contains a chorus that sticks like glue, the melodic opener “Falling to Pieces”, and Lake of Fire. Those who are not captivated by the above mentioned songs must be either fans of Metalcore, fans of Techno, deaf or something even worse.


Well... even though that this album contains great songs and shredding solos from Lou St. Paul

not every single song can convince me. There are a few fillers too in my humble opinion. However... while not perfect FIRES OF BABYLON should easily appeal to all fans of US Metal.


The production is more than okay so check this album out when it’s released April 25th 2008.

But take a listen before you buy.

01. Falling to Pieces
02. Devilution
03. When the Kingdom Comes
04. Lake of Fire
05. Holy Resurrection
06. Going Through Changes
07. Lazarus Rising
08. Revolution Coming
09. Generation of Destruction
10. Castle are Burning
Label: Metal Heaven
Provided by: Metal Heaven
Artwork rating: 70/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: April 4th 2008