Death Angel
Killing Season
Style: Bay-Area Thrash
Release date: February 29th 2008

The Angels of Death are back, it's been about four years since 'The Art of Dying' saw the light. Thanks God it wasn't a one time reunion. With producer Nick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Velvet Revolver) they entered Dave Grohl's Studio 606 to can this one.

After listening the whole CD for one time I was a little disappointed, but after listening it again and again and.....again, I'm not any longer. Slowly the record becomes better and better. The best song for me is "Sonic Beatdown" it has it all, thrashy riffs, sharp and direct vocals from Mark Osegueda and complex drumming with tempo-changes. Everything you expect from a DA song.

"Dethroned" has kind of Megadeth-riffs while the song, "Buried Alive" has the harmonies in it as we all know them from their album 'Act III'. The only weaker song in my opinion is "When Worlds Collide", why? It's difficult to say, but maybe it is because of the community singing of the refrain. The record ends with "Ressurection Machine". After an acoustic guitar part the riffing starts and reminds me of Metallica (Master of Puppets).

If you appreciate the following things: hooks, melody, catchy, variety, anger, double bass, acoustic guitar, straight forward rock, punk-riffing, thrash-oriented, rock grooves, sing-a-long song, screaming, rock 'n' roll, simple guitar chords, complex drums, excellent guitar solos, good musicianship, tempo changes and well written thrash songs, it's all on this one. Try it out.

01. Lord of Hate
02. Sonic Beatdown
03. Dethroned
04. Carnival Justice
05. Buried Alive
06. Soulless
07. The Noose
08. When Worlds Collide
09. God vs God
10. Steal the Crown
11. Resurrection Machine
Label: Nuclear Blast GmbH
Distribution: VME (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 55/100
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: March 13th 2008