Style: Thrash//Metal Core
Release date: March 25th 2008

The Swiss band Cataract started back in 1998 as a heavy groovy death/thrashcore band. Since 1998 they have regularly released albums. They still make progress with every album, they have become a mature recognizable band within their genre. The biggest difference between their previous album 'Kingdom'  and this one is that founder of the band Simon (guitar) has left the band. In Tom Kuzmic the band found a successor.

Compared with the last CD there are not many musical style changes. The songs do still have a lot of Slayer-esk riffs and solos in it and the hysteric aggressive hardcore-style singing is also there. Tue Madsen signed for the greasy chubby sound of the album again. He can always create a kind of live-sound, which a lot of bands prefer to get on their album. That, and the more variation in the songs makes this album a bit different from their last.

Recommendable songs: You can play them all if you like their previous album. Also metal-core and Slayer fans will be pleased. My favourite: "In Ashes" (good riffing).

01. The Separation Of life And Time
02. Blackest Hour
03. Snake Skin
04. Choke Down
05. Deathwish
06. Burn At the Stake
07. Tonight We Dine In Hell
08. Breeze Of The Kings
09. Doomed Steps
10. In Ashes
Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target
Artwork rating: 81/100
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: March 3rd 2008