We are the Nightmare
Style: Technical Death Metal
Release date: April 21st 2008

One of the biggest surprises for me this month is Arsis. I can understand why Nuclear Blast signed this band. I haven't heard something similar lately. Of course there are links with other bands, but Arsis has the ability to forge these styles to something original.

Expect technical death metal with tight and fast riffs, brutal grunts and screams combined with some blastbeats and a lot tempo changes. The songs need some time before they unfold their beauty. Special is, that the band has the ability to put all those tempo-changes and different styles in their songs without creating a mess. The songs have still a kind of groove in them and are not loose sand.

Arsis is a pot-pourri of the latest Death, Into Eternity, Tourniquet, blastbeats and some good and fast riffing. If you get excited by this combination, start running to the store to get your own Nightmare...!

01. We are the Nightmare
02. Shattering the Spell
03. Sightless Wisdom
04. Servants to the Night
05. Failing Winds of Hopeless Greed
06. Overthrown
07. Progressive Entrapment
08. A Feast for the Liar's Tongue
09. My Oath to Madness
10. Failure's Conquest
Label: Nuclear Blast GmbH
Distribution: VME (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 70/100
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: April 21st 2008