Volturyon – Cleansed by Carnage

Right, death metal maniacs, this one’s for you. Volturyon have been around in some form or shape since 2005 and have now released three full-lengths and one EP. Although they’re Swedish, they lean more towards the tunes of US bands rather than their Gothenburg brethren. Cannibal Corpse springs to mind.

There isn’t really much to say about ‘Cleansed by Carnage’ other than it’s ultra solid. The Swedes offer few surprises, but drive the hammer home with a sure touch. Relentless guitar attacks, pinch harmonics as we know and expect them, clock work drumming, brutal vocals. What else do you need in an old-school death metal album?

1. Pile of Human
2. To Starve You
3. Cleansed by Carnage
4. Swiping Salvation
5. Fungus Coat
6. Hinterkaifeck
7. Cocoon
8. The Perfidious Idol
9. The Capital of Perverse Punishment
10. Pleasure of Molestation

Playing time: 43 minutes

Release date: 2nd of September, 2016

Label: ViciSolum Productions

Website: volturyon.net

Thomas Nielsen
About Thomas Nielsen 1345 Articles
When my old buddy Kenn Jensen asked me if I wanted to contribute to the new site he had created, then called powermetal.dk, I didn't hesitate. My love for metal music was and is great. I wrote my first review during the summer of 2004 (Moonspell's 'Antidote' album). In 2015, I took over the editor-in-chief role.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.