Universal Mind Project – The Jaguar Priest

Universal Mind Project was founded in 2012 by American guitarist and composer Michael Alexander, and it is a collaborative project between musicians from all around the globe.

Musically, solid founded in progressive metal, combined with melodic death, power and symphonic metal, Universal Mind Project has set the goals high, just take a look at the musicians taking part.

The band consists of  Elina Laivera (Vocals), Henrik Bath (Vocals, Darkwater), Michael Alexander (Guitars/growls) and Alex Landenburg (Drums, Luca Turilli’s Rhapsody, Octayne 21). And the following guests appears on the album: Nils K .Rue (Pagan’s Mind), Mark Jansen (Epica, Mayan), Charlie Dominici (ex. Dream Theater), Diego Valdez (Helker), Alessandro Bissa (Vision Divine), Mike LePond (Symphony X), Emanuele Casali (DGM) and Johan Reinholz (Andromeda). So nothing has been spared to make this one of the most impressive progressive power metal album of 2016.

The three main vocalists represents three styles: Elina portraying the beauty with her fragile female voice, the powerful male main character portrayed by Henrik and darkness portrayed by Michael with his aggressive growls, and the combination of the three along with the guest vocalists is one of the finest parts of the album. I am sure some will be turned off by the harsh growls from Michael, but I really like the contrast between his voice and Elina’s.

“The Jaguar Priest” is a big production with many layers of sounds, grandiose soundscapes and polyphonic vocals, and the production is thankfully tight and crystal clear. And the album art work is some of the best I’ve seen in a long time. All pieces put together makes this a smashing album that combines so many genre without ending in a mess. This is clever progressive power metal and a real nice and positive surprise for me.

Check it out!


  1. Anthem for Freedom (4:13)
  2. Truth (4:47)
  3. The Bargain of Lost Souls (4:29)
  4. Dreamstate (5:40)
  5. Awakened by the Light (Universal Mind) (7:59)
  6. A World That Burns (4:39)
  7. Seven (4:23)
  8. The Jaguar Priest (8:55)
  9. The Force of our Creation (8:35)
  10. Xibalba (4:53)

Playing Time: 60:29

Release date: April 29, 2016

Label: Inner Wound Recordings

Website: Universal Mind Project @ Facebook

Kenn Jensen
About Kenn Jensen 434 Articles
When I kicked this site off back in 2003, I had no idea that it would turn into what it has become. I am very proud of what we've done and achieved over the years. Musically I have a soft spot for 80s inspired hard rock, but my favourite music and bands are all to be found in the progressive universe these days.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.