Thunder – Rip It Up

In many ways you can say that Thunder and Tesla share similar faith: both had some commercial success early on, both have never release a bad album; ranging from rock solid over very good to brilliant and both have stayed true to their beliefs and the path chosen so long ago. And both bands have a frontman and vocalist, who divides people…

“Rip It Up” is another testament to their hard work and dedication, and a worthy follow up to their 2015 album “Wonder Days”. Their take on hard rock always contains solid portion blues and this album is no different and my favorites all contains a grain of blues to add a little spice to the otherwise solid foundation of hard rock.

But fear not it’s not like they are drifting afar from their well-known sound universe, not this is still pure and honest hard rock made in the UK. Thunder has managed to top “Wonder Days” with this new album and has delivered their best album in years, actually I rank it just below their two first albums, which says a lot about the quality on this album.

A very pleasant surprise and a great way to kick 2017 off in the hard rock department!

Best moments: “Rip It Up”, “She likes the Cocaine” and “The Chosen One”.


  1. No One Get’s Out Alive (4:21)
  2. Rip It Up (4:43)
  3. She Likes the Cocaine (4:34)
  4. Right from the Start (5:23)
  5. Shakedown (4:08)
  6. Heartbreak Hurricane (4:46)
  7. In Another Life (4:57)
  8. The Chosen One (5:09)
  9. The Enemy Inside (3:10)
  10. Tumbling Down (5:25)
  11. There’s Always a Loser (4:38)

Playing Time: 51:13

Release date: February 10, 2017

Label: earMUSIC/Edel Germany GmbH


Kenn Jensen
About Kenn Jensen 434 Articles
When I kicked this site off back in 2003, I had no idea that it would turn into what it has become. I am very proud of what we've done and achieved over the years. Musically I have a soft spot for 80s inspired hard rock, but my favourite music and bands are all to be found in the progressive universe these days.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.