The Winery Dogs – Hot Streak


When three outstanding musicians like Ritchie Kotzen (guitars & vocals), Billy Sheehan (bass) and Mike Portnoy (drums) get together the term supergroup is bound to be thrown out there. And like so many all-star bands before them they are bound to fail, unless they deliver something extraordinary.

I am sorry to say that they do not deliver something that sets them apart from the competition. Sure, you can’t put a finder on the technical side of things: each member is a true champion in his game, and the album has an excellent production. But what lets us a bit down is the songs…

When you put on a hard rock album you want to listen to memorable and catchy songs, and even though this album, like their debut album, has its moments, it doesn’t leave a lasting impression on me. No chorus is one you find yourself humming the next day and the soft songs are not ones to remember.

It’s by no means a bad album, and it’s actually better than their first album. And if you like bass driven hard rock with outstanding leads and a rock solid and ultra-tight rhythm section, I suggest you give this one a listen …

For fans of Chickenfoot, Mr. Big and Deep Purple.


  1. Oblivion (4:11)
  2. Captain Love (5:06)
  3. Hot Streak (5:10)
  4. How Long (3:55)
  5. Empire (6:08)
  6. Fire (4:46)
  7. Ghost Town (4:27)
  8. The Bridge (4:49)
  9. War Machine (5:11)
  10. Spiral (5:50)
  11. Devil You Know (4:30)
  12. Think It Over (5:02)
  13. The Lamb (6:44)

Playing time: 65:54

Release date: October 2, 2015

Label: earMUSIC


Kenn Jensen
About Kenn Jensen 434 Articles
When I kicked this site off back in 2003, I had no idea that it would turn into what it has become. I am very proud of what we've done and achieved over the years. Musically I have a soft spot for 80s inspired hard rock, but my favourite music and bands are all to be found in the progressive universe these days.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.