Stratovarius – Best of

Stratovarius will always be thought of in two eras; the time with Timo Tolkki and the time without. He was the main songwriter and the brain behind the band, but after he left in 2008, they’ve pushed forward and have released fine albums without his contribution.

Do we really need a Best of now? Well, I will let you decide on your own because isolated speaking it’s a fine collection of some the best moments in Stratovarius’ long career. All songs have been remastered and the real gem is hidden in the bonus disc, only available on the Special Edition: a live recording from Wacken Open Air 2015.

The songs I’d expect or should I say those I would select are all there, and they have even found room for two of their best epic songs in “Destiny” and “Elysium”. The sole new song, “Until the End of Days” is a typical up-tempo and powerful song that fit the direction of the band right now.

This is a fine place to start if you want to get to know Stratovarius and/or want to learn about European Power Metal. The rest of you – think careful before you decide to buy this, and if you do so then I suggest you spend the extra bucks on the Special Edition.



  1. Until the End of Days
  2. My Eternal Dream
  3. Eagleheart
  4. Speed of Light
  5. O.S.
  6. Forever Free
  7. Wings of Tomorrow
  8. No Turning Back
  9. Break the Ice
  10. Distant Skies
  11. Will the Sun Rise?
  12. A Million Light Years Away
  13. Under Flaming Skies
  14. Darkest Hour
  15. Winter Skies
  16. I Walk to My Own Song
  17. Maniac Dance


  1. Halcyon Days
  2. Will My Soul Rest In Peace?
  3. Destiny
  4. Paradise
  5. Deep Unknown
  6. Elysium
  7. Black Diamond
  8. If the Story is Over
  9. Unbreakable
  10. Forever
  11. Shine in the Dark
  12. Hunting High and Low

Bonus Disc

  1. Intro
  2. Black Diamond
  3. Eagleheart
  4. Against the Wind
  5. Dragons
  6. Legions of the Twilight
  7. Paradise
  8. Shine in the Dark
  9. Speed of Light
  10. Unbreakable
  11. Hunting High and Low

Playing Time: CD 1 –  79:12, CD 2 – 76:32, Bonus disc – 54:52

Release date: May 20, 2016

Label: earMUSIC


Kenn Jensen
About Kenn Jensen 434 Articles
When I kicked this site off back in 2003, I had no idea that it would turn into what it has become. I am very proud of what we've done and achieved over the years. Musically I have a soft spot for 80s inspired hard rock, but my favourite music and bands are all to be found in the progressive universe these days.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.