Solution .45 – Nightmares In the Waking State – Part II

“Nightmares In The Waking State – Part II” is in fact not a ‘new’ album, in the strict sense of the word. Both Part I and II were actually recorded at the same time, as ‘one’ long album, but since the band didn’t want to release it as a regular double album, they decided to split it into two separate releases instead, to make it a bit more interesting.

Compared to Part I maybe Part II has a slightly more melodic touch. In general however there are no big musical differences. Grunting styles varied with clean singing and music in the vein of Scar Symmetry and Soilwork. Again some fine melodies in the songs make it very interesting. Readers who like the first part will also like the second part. For the rest I haven’t a lot more to tell you about this new release.

I could write down a lot of the same comments I did in the review of Part I, but I just give you the link:


01. Dim Are the Pathways
02. The Faint Pulse Of Light
03. Mind Mutation
04. Built On Sand
05. Inescapable Dream
06. The Curse That Keeps On Giving
07. Chain Connector
08. What Turns The Wheels
09. Misery Mantra
10. Heavy Lies the Crown


Playing time: 53:00

Release date: 26 August 2016

Label: AFM Records


Reinier de Vries
About Reinier de Vries 383 Articles
Once a metal head, always a metalhead. My parents thought it would only be a period, but they were wrong. I quit to explain the beauty of metal music to others that are not into metal, because it is something you can't tell in words... It is like explaining to a teetotaller why a cold beer is so nice on a hot day... I started with bands like Accept, Metal Church, Iron Maiden and Metallica in the eighties and I think I will still listen to them when I'm stone deaf and old...

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.