Pretty Maids – Kingmaker

Pretty Maids is a life-long companion of mine; their two stellar 80s releases “Red, Hot and Heavy” and “Future World” are important parts of the soundtrack of my youth. Being the local heroes from Horsens, the city I resides in now, I’ve always held them close to heart.

A few years back they began a new tradition; plying a Christmas show here in Horsens, coming back home, playing a set of classics and more recent material in front of fans, friends and family. Many here in town see this as the “official” beginning of the holidays… and they are coming back this year as well, and I plan to attend once more.

Kenneth Hansen and Paul Christensen have always been the two driving forces in the band, guitarist and vocalist respectively. I am still not sure why they still use their artist names: Ken Hammer and Ronnie Atkins? But they do and “Kingmaker” is yet another testament to the legacy of these two hard working artists, who have done this over and over, sticking to their guns, never caving in and going all commercial on us.

Kenneth’s trademark sound, riffs and leads are as present as ever and Paul sings like a young vocal god. The production done by their new producer of choice Jacob Hansen is spot on and the album is honest and falls nicely in line with their two latest studio albums: “Pandemonium” and “Motherland”, even though this one might be a little heavier and harder than both.

Pretty Maids has never let me down, and they have once more created a strong and powerful melodic metal album that is exactly what the fans want and wish for… pick any song on the album and you know for sure, which band you are listening to.

Best moments: “Kingmaker”, “Face the World”, “Last Beauty on Earth” and “Sickening”.


  1. When God Took a Day Off (6:01)
  2. Kingmaker (4:16)
  3. Face the World (3:59)
  4. Humanize Me (4:13)
  5. Last Beauty on Earth (4:05)
  6. Bull’s Eye (3:56)
  7. King of the Right Here and Now (4:21)
  8. Heavens Little Devil (3:48)
  9. Civilized Monsters (4:57)
  10. Sickening (3:45)
  11. Was That What You Wanted (5:00)

Playing Time: 48:21

Release date: November 4, 2016

Label: Frontiers Music s.r.l.


Kenn Jensen
About Kenn Jensen 434 Articles
When I kicked this site off back in 2003, I had no idea that it would turn into what it has become. I am very proud of what we've done and achieved over the years. Musically I have a soft spot for 80s inspired hard rock, but my favourite music and bands are all to be found in the progressive universe these days.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.