Orpheus Omega – Partum Vita Mortem


When I saw the tag ÔÇØMelodic DeathÔÇØ I quickly thought of my favorite bands in the genre e.g. Mors Principium Est, Kalmah, Hypocrisy, Carcass, At The Gates and so on. If one has listened to such bands, one can not help but set the bar high. It seems to me that Orpheus Omega are doing to some degree something similar to the earlier days of In Flames, Soilwork and Dark Tranquillity with a modern quirk.

One can easily get into Partum Vita Mortem, it is nothing new to my ears, at least. It accentuates the Gothenburg sound exceptionally and for brief moments it starts to be partial to the Insomnium melody, which warrants not a complaint. The lyrics deal with the essence of our humanity i.e. we are born, we live, we die.

The clean vocals are not to my taste as the style is akin to the whining screamo bands. I cringed a little at the unpleasantness on Unravelling Today and Echoes Through Infinity; It works on Karma Favours The Weak, however. The second half of the album is where all the excitement begins ÔÇô wherein lies the purest identity of the band, in what respect Orpheus Omega can be recognized as themselves and not another band. I was most fascinated with tracks such as ÔÇØTomorrow’s Fiends And Yesterday’s GhostsÔÇØ, ÔÇØRevel In OblivionÔÇØ and ÔÇØSilence, The IÔÇØ.

The production could not have been any more fitting with very crystal clear tonality; Not a layer of instrument blurred and not so excessive. I greatly appreciate the fact that the orchestrations do not drown the guitars – even their live performances are quite the quality. A very hardworking and determined band, it seems.

The vein of Partum Vita Mortem is very well represented. It is forthright and unambigous. Though it is not an out of the ordinary album, it still delivers, is skillful and several gems can be found.


01. Conception (01:50)
02. I, Architect (04:44)
03. Karma Favours the Weak (05:13)
04. Practice Makes Pathetic (04:58)
05. Our Reminder (04:08)
06. Unraveling Today (05:08)
07. BreathÔÇÖs Burden (04:25)
08. TomorrowÔÇÖs Fiends & YesterdayÔÇÖs Ghosts (04:54)
09. Beacons (04:40)
10. Echoes Through Infinity (04:36)
11. Revel in Oblivion (04:18)
12. Kharon (04:53)
13. Silence, The I (04:17)

Playing time: 58:04

Genre: Melodic Death Metal

Release date: 24th of July, 2015

Label: Kolony Records

Website: Official Homepage

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.