Nile – What Should Not Be Unearthed


Nile have a new album out, which I have been listening to this last week. Firstly, I must say it’s so good when you have great production on this kind of music. All too often we hear nothing but snare, hi-hat and incomprehensible vocals to guitars tuned down way to low to even hear a tone. Even with bands as well established within their field as Nile, this can still happen.

The music itself defines why Nile are considered one of the heavy hitters of the genre. In my opinion, it is always a good idea to break up the dark themes of this type of music with a demonstration of technical skill as well – but as I have said many times before in other reviews, it has to fit the songs and not just be there for the sake of showing people that you are capable of it. Nile are a really good example of this and it is one of the things that has set them apart from a lot of their peers.

I haven’t listened to much Nile, my introduction to them was at the Bloodstock festival a few years back and I was impressed so I have checked out some of their material. The vocals sound more consistently aggressive than I have previously heard, but other than that there is not any substantial difference with what I am hearing on this album, they appear to be staying true to form.

There is the short acoustic instrumental ‘Ushabti Reanimator’ that sounds like the music you would expect to accompany the build up to a movie scene of a Mayan sacrifice. That is an absolute gem. Sorry. Egyptian sacrifice.

Nile are currently on tour in Europe.


1. Call to Destruction
2. Negating The Abominable Coils Of Apep
3. Liber Stellae – Rubaeae
4. In The Name Of Amun
5. What Should Not Be Unearthed
6. Evil To Cast Out Evil
7. Age Of Famine
8. Ushabti Reanimator
9. Rape Of The Black Earth
10. To Walk Forth From Flames Unscathed

Playing time: 50:03

Relase Date: 28/08/15

Label: Nuclear Blast


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.