Magni Animi Viri – Heroes Temporis World Edition

This is actually not another new rock opera, but a remake of “Heroes Temporis” from 2006. The original was conceived by Giancarlo Trotta and Luca Contegiacomo, both musicians with background in rock as well as classical. The object was to merge opera and rock with the help of a few friends (Marco Sfogli, Randy Coven and John Macaluso) as well as a hundred-piece symphonic orchestra (Bulgarian Symphonic Orchestra). The original was done in Italian, and now ten years later comes the World Edition done in English.

To elevate the album to the next level and attract a wider audience they’ve decided to hire some heavy weights in rock and metal: Russell Allen (Symphony X) and Amanda Somerville (Kiske/Somerville, Avantasia etc.) to portray the two main characters and they have also brought in Clive Riche (actor, probably best known for Tyro in “Rome (to me anyhow)) to handle the narrating.

With the basics in place and recorded a long time ago, the weight lays on the shoulders of the two vocalists, and both Amanda and Russell delivers breathtaking performances on this album. They prove to be the perfect choices for the parts and deliver one of the best vocal performances on a metal/rock album I’ve heard in a long time. There is plenty of room for both of them to show their full range and their strengths, and they do.

The symphonic rock/metal supporting them draws parallels to bands like After Forever, Nightwish and Therion, but has a lot of other influences as well like soundtracks, musicals and pop. A real gem for rock and metal fans, who like well-played and performed rock opera’s and this is an album I keep going back to with great pleasure.

I can strongly recommend that you check out Magni Animi Viri because they surely caught me off guard and I am sure many other will be equally impressed with this album.



  1. Soundtrack (3:06)
  2. Heroes… (4:18)
  3. …Temporis (4:35)
  4. Intus + Until (5:29)
  5. Thoughts (4:40)
  6. Never Again (5:21)
  7. Desertsoul (4:41)
  8. I’d Like (4:50)
  9. Like the Hawk (4:56)
  10. Moon Peace (3:36)
  11. Crystalize (4:20)
  12. Fortis (4:28)
  13. Without Breath (4:03)
  14. Outro (2:33)

Playing Time: 60:56

Release date: January 21, 2016

Label: Independent / Association Heroes Temporis for Autistic Children


All the profit for the sales will be devolved to Heroes Temporis for Autistic Children ONLUS (NPO) – that Magni Animi Viri have always been supporting – to finance the opening of a “game-and-diagnosis” ward in the MerClin clinic in Campagna, province of Salerno. Such ward, dedicated to children, will also be integrated by a clown-therapy team. It is also possible to donate to the charity through the website 


Kenn Jensen
About Kenn Jensen 434 Articles
When I kicked this site off back in 2003, I had no idea that it would turn into what it has become. I am very proud of what we've done and achieved over the years. Musically I have a soft spot for 80s inspired hard rock, but my favourite music and bands are all to be found in the progressive universe these days.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.