Gamma Ray – Sigh No More (Anniversary Edition)


Gamma Ray has been around for 25 years and to celebrate the event earMUSIC has decided to re-release some of their albums in a special anniversary edition with lots of extra material to justify the purchase.

The album I have in front of me is their sophomore album “Sigh No More”, the follow up to the very successful debut album “Heading for Tomorrow”. Originally released in 1991, it shows a harder and heavier side of Kai Hansen’s universe.

The album contains many Gamma Ray classics: “Changes”, “Rich and Famous”, “One with the World” and “Dream Healer” and shows a band with a clear direction and identity. Some claim they peaked with this album, I beg to differ, but do think that this is one of their best albums.

The songs on the anniversary edition have been remastered and the bonus disc includes many old gems, but no new songs or anything special. And some might wonder if you really need four new editions of “Dream Healer”.

A fine re-release of one of the better power metal albums from 1991. Not a release you absolutely need to buy unless you are missing it in your collection or absolutely need to have everything that involves Kai Hansen.



  1. Changes (5:43)
  2. Rich and Famous (4:36)
  3. As Times Go By (4:41)
  4. (We Won’t) Stop the War (3:45)
  5. Father and Son (4:24)
  6. One with the World (4:47)
  7. Start Running (3:56)
  8. Countdown (4:18)
  9. Dream Healer (6:18)
  10. The Spirit (4:20)
  11. Sail On (Live) (5:27)
  12. Changes (Live) (5:14)


  1. One with the World (Live at Wacken 2001) (4:58)
  2. Dream Healer (Live in Montreal 2006) (8:08)
  3. Changes (Blast from the Past Edition – Re-mastered in 2015) (5:28)
  4. Rich and Famous (Blast from the Past Edition – Re-mastered in 2015) (4:54)
  5. One with the World (Blast from the Past Edition – Re-mastered in 2015) (4:50)
  6. Dream Healer (Blast from the Past Edition – Re-mastered in 2015) (7:35)
  7. Heroes (Pre-production) (4:59)
  8. Dream Healer (Pre-production) (9:37)
  9. As Times Go By (Pre-production – Kai on vocals) (4:58)
  10. (We Won’t) Stop the War (Pre-production – Kai on vocals) (3:40)
  11. Dream Healer (Demo – Kai on vocals) (5:56)
  12. Rich and Famous (Demo – Kai on vocals) (5:09)

Playing Time: 57:35 + 70:17

Release date: September 25, 2015

Label: earMusic


Kenn Jensen
About Kenn Jensen 434 Articles
When I kicked this site off back in 2003, I had no idea that it would turn into what it has become. I am very proud of what we've done and achieved over the years. Musically I have a soft spot for 80s inspired hard rock, but my favourite music and bands are all to be found in the progressive universe these days.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.