Release date: April 21st 2006
Major MTM Music
Distribution: Bonnier Amigo
Website: www.fateband.dk
Hard Rock

Rating: 90/100
Reviewed by:
Jørgen Ditlev
April 25th 2006

Danish hard rockers Fate was formed back in 1985 by Hank Sherman (Mercyful Fate), Peter Steincke, Bjarne Holm (Mercyful Fate) and Jeff Limbo. They released their self-titled debut album in 1985 with great success; the second album “A Matter of Attitude” released in 1986 was also a superb piece of hard rock.

Then in 1988 Hank Sherman left the band and was replaced by Jacob Moth, in the same Year the “Cruisin’ for a Brusin’” album came out, a disappointing party rock album.

Up to the 1990 “Scratch ‘n Sniff” album there was two more line-up changes, Jacob Moth was replaced by Mattias Eklundh (Frozen Eyes) and Jeff Limbo was replaced by Per Johansson who sang on one of the most legendary albums ever released by a Danish band, the self-titled Crystal Knight LP from 1985. The “Scratch ‘n Sniff” album was more in the hard rock direction again, but it failed to live up to the earlier stuff released by Fate.

Fate broke up in 1993, but resurfaced in 2004 on the Deep Impact Festival in Germany , also in 2004 MTM Music re-released “A Matter of Attitude” a year later “Scratch ‘n Sniff” was re-released, both albums come with two bonus tracks.

Now a days Fate consist of Per Johansson, Peter Steincke, Søren Hoff and Micke Kvist. The new album “V” has been treated with a great production by Tommy Hansen (Pretty Maids, Helloween, TNT and many more), the music has been given a facelift everything just sounds great.

“V” is packed with great hard rock, if you are looking for strong melodies and catchy songs then you can’t get around this great album.

The legend is back.  

Recommended tracks: “Butterfly”, “Burned Child” and “Life”.