Seeds of Rage

Release date: May 26th 2006
Label: Limb Music Products
Target (Denmark)
Website: www.eldritchweb.com

Progressive Metal

Rating: 63/100
Cover artwork rating:
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: May 25th 2006

Eldritch was formed in 1991 when vocalist Terence Holler and guitar player/songwriter Eugene Simone and drummer Adriano Dal Canto established Eldritch from the remainders of their former band ZEUS - and the history of this Italian Progressive Metal band began.

Eldritch has released 6 albums and now their debut album called "Seeds of Rage" (1995), has been remastered and is being re-released. The 2006 version re-mastered by R.D. Liapakis (Mystic Prophecy) and Christian Schmid (Music Factory Studios) contains 5 bonus tracks, so Eldritch fans should be in for a real treat.

I must admit that I was only familiar with one Eldritch album before I received “Seeds of Rage”, namely “Portrait of The Abyss Within” (2004), which is quite good… so what do I think of “Seeds of Rage”?

I find the debut album of Eldritch acceptable, no more, no less. Tracks like “Incurable Ill”, “Chains”, “Chalice of Insanity” and the bonus track “Mad of Destiny” are very good; however most of the songs are not above average in my humble opinion.

If you are looking for a Progressive Metal band with huge and memorable choruses you should not look this way… it’s the music that holds this band up, not the choruses.

This album needs some time in your CD-player before it opens up… but when it does, you will find an acceptable album and a band that has their very own sound. The musicianship is top notch and the production is very good, so if you are into Progressive Metal, maybe you should at least check this band out?

My advice is to give “Seeds of Rage” quite a few spins before passing your verdict on Eldritch because like I said, it takes its time until it fully unfolds and shows you what it is all about.  

Recommended tracks: See above.