Sólstafir announce UK and Irish tour dates in December

SÓLSTAFIR have added more dates to their already announced European tour in support of their latest release ‘Berdreyminn‘ this December. Their massive road-trip will kick off at Poland’s B90 in Gdansk on November 20, and run through 17 more countries before the final curtain falls at the Voodoo Lounge in Dublin, Ireland on the 22nd of December.


SÓLSTAFIR festivals

18 Aug 18 Dinkelsbühl (DE) Summer Breeze Open Air

11 May 19 Vienna (AT) Vienna Metal meeting


29 Aug 18 Perth (AU) Rosemount Hotel

30 Aug 18 Sydney (AU) Factory Theatre

31 Aug 18 Brisbane (AU) The Zoo

01 Sep 18 Melbourne (AU) Max Watts

SÓLSTAFIR European tour

20 Nov 18 Gdansk (PL) B90

21 Nov 18 Warsaw (PL) Progresja

22 Nov 18 Vilnius (LT) Loftas

23 Nov 18 Riga (LV) Melna Vilnius

24 Nov 18 Tallinn (EE) Tapper

29 Nov 18 Gothenburg (SE) Sticky Fingers

30 Nov 18 Oslo (NO) Vulkan Arena

01 Dec 18 Copenhagen (DK) Lille Vega

02 Dec 18 Leipzig (DE) Taubchenthal

03 Dec 18 Stuttgart (DE) Im Wizeman

04 Dec 18 Winterthur (CH) Salzhaus

05 Dec 18 Marseille (FR) Jas Rod

06 Dec 18 Biarritz (FR) Atabal

07 Dec 18 Madrid (ES) Madrid Is The Dark Festival

08 Dec 18 Lisbon (PT) Under The Doom

09 Dec 18 Porto (PT) Hard Club

11 Dec 18 Cognac (FR) West Rock

12 Dec 18 Audincourt (FR) Le Moloco

13 Dec 18 Lille (FR) Aeronef

14 Dec 18 Eindhoven (NL) Eindhoven Metal Meeting

15 Dec 18 Istanbul (TR) Garajistanbul

16 Dec 18 Athens (GR) Fuzz Club

SÓLSTAFIR UK/Ireland tour

17 Dec 18 Bristol (UK) The Fleece

18 Dec 18 Birmingham (UK) Hare & Hounds

19 Dec 18 Manchester (UK) Deaf Institute

20 Dec 18 Glasgow (UK) Classic Grand

21 Dec 18 Belfast (UK) Limelight 2

22 Dec 18 Dublin (IR) Voodoo Lounge

The band will be touring in support of the Icelander’s latest album, ‘Berdreyminn’ which is streaming in full here. Artwork and further information can be found below.



1. Silfur-Refur (6:54)

2. Ísafold (4:59)

3. Hula (7:07)

4. Nárós (7:23)

5. Hvít Sæng (7:22)

6. Dýrafjörður (7:32)

7. Ambátt (8:08)

8. Bláfjall (8:00)


Music will always be inspired by the environment in which it is created. With its incredible array of highly diverse landscapes ranging from white glaciers via volcanic bizarreness, moss-green bubble-fields, deep fjords, and frost-cracked mountains to black beaches, Iceland has shaped a host of astonishingly original and fiercely individual bands such as SIGUR RÓS, BJÖRK, and SÓLSTAFIR. SÓLSTAFIR embody the ever-turning wheel of seasons with their shifting light, darkness, and colours, extreme Northern climate, the stark contrasts, the closeness of beauty and deadly forces of nature, the impressive sceneries that have the bones of ancient gods enshrined in them like hardly any other band in every aspect of their existence. SÓLSTAFIR are not like any other band. Their latest album, ‘Berdreyminn’ underscores this statement. As its title “a dreamer of forthcoming events” aptly describes, the four Icelanders have taken their already impressive evolution one step further. The band has continued to amalgamate haunting melodies, psychedelic phases, as well as strong undercurrents of classic rock and hard rock with echoes of their metal past.

Yet SÓLSTAFIR’s focus is not on style but pure emotion. ‘Berdreyminn’ is eclectic by a conscious choice to make feelings audible and transform taste as well as texture to sound. Genre borders are not broken but simply ignored. Musical influences are gathered from a wide range of sources, re-arranged, and woven into new patterns.  Melancholy, longing, anger, joy, pleasure, pain, and other emotions are fulling this album.

Despite leaning clearly towards an expression that can be described as rock today, SÓLSTAFIR have their roots in metal as their debut full-length ‘Í Blóði og Anda’ (2002), which translates as “In Blood and Spirit” still witnesses. Instead of today’s Icelandic gravel throated siren chants, frontman Aðalbjörn Tryggvason spat forth vitriolic crusty vocals and all strings were forged with black metal. Already their next albums ‘Masterpiece of Bitterness’ (2005) and ‘Köld’ (2009) marked stations of a continuous evolution. SÓLSTAFIR went further along their solitary path and obviously left any categorising box with the ground-breaking follow-ups ‘Svartir Sandar’ (2011) and ‘Ótta’ (2014), which received high critical acclaim and attracted new fans in equal measure, while managing the difficult feat of keeping most of their earlier following too. SÓLSTAFIR have set sails to new horizons with ‘Berdreyminn’. Yet the Icelanders brought their home with them and the silhouette of their vessels remains easily recognisable. Welcome aboard on a new adventurous musical journey into uncharted territories.


Aðalbjörn Tryggvason: guitar, vocals

Svavar Austmann: bass

Sæþór Maríus Sæþórsson: guitar

Hallgrímur Jón Hallgrímsson: drums, backing vocals

Guest musicians

Brass, strings, and piano across the tracks



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.