Rotting Christ announce European tour dates with Moonspell

The Greek metal veterans of ROTTING CHRIST  have announced new European tour dates together with Moonspell this Fall. The massive rampage kicks off at the Markthalle venue in Hamburg (DE), and continues to wreck havoc throughout 22 more countries before a final curtain at the Backstage in München (DE). A full list of confirmed shows can be found below.



24 Oct 19 Hamburg (DE) Markthalle

25 Oct 19 Bochum (DE) Matrix

26 Oct 19 Hengelo (NL) Metropool

27 Oct 19 Amsterdam (NL) Melkweg

29 Oct 19 London (UK) Islington Assembly Hall

30 Oct 19 Antwerp (BE) Trix

31 Oct 19 Rennes (FR) L’etage

01 Nov 19 Paris (FR) La Machine

02 Nov 19 Toulouse (FR) Metronum

03 Nov 19 Madrid (ES) MON

07 Nov 19 Murcia (ES) Garaje

08 Nov 19 Barcelona (ES) Salamandra

09 Nov 19 Bourg-en-Bresse (FR) Le Tannerie

10 Nov 19 Milano (IT) Magazzini Generali

11 Nov 19 Bologna (IT) Estragon

15 Nov 19 Istanbul (TR) If Performance Hall

17 Nov 19 Sofia (BG) Mixtape 5

18 Nov 19 Zagreb (HR) Mochvara

19 Nov 19 Graz (AT) Dom im Berg

20 Nov 19 Bratislava (SK) Majestic Club

21 Nov 19 Vienna (AT) Simm City

22 Nov 19 Budapest (HU) A38

23 Nov 19 Zlin (CZ) Winter MOR – Euronics Sports Hall

24 Nov 19 Krakow (PL) Kwadrat

25 Nov 19 Warszaw (PL) Progresja

26 Nov 19 Gdansk (PL) B90

27 Nov 19 Riga (LV) Melna Piektdiena

28 Nov 19 Tallinn (EE) Tapper

29 Nov 19 Helsinki (FI) Tavastia

30 Nov 19 Tampere (FI) Klubi

01 Dec 19 Turku (FI) Apollo

03 Dec 19 Stockholm (SE) Slaktkyrkan

04 Dec 19 Oslo (NO) Parkteatret

05 Dec 19 Kolding (DK) Godset

06 Dec 19 Roskilde (DK) Gimle

07 Dec 19 Berlin (DE) Columbia Theater

08 Dec 19 Hannover (DE) Musikzentrum

09 Dec 19 Mannheim (DE) MS Connexion Complex

10 Dec 19 Esch Alzette (LU) Kulturfabrik

11 Dec 19 Geneve (CH) PTR

12 Dec 19 Pratteln (CH) Z7

13 Dec 19 Leipzig (DE) Hellraiser

14 Dec 19 Würzburg (DE) Posthalle

15 Dec 19 München (DE) Backstage


27 Apr 19 Stockholm (SE) Stockholm Slaughter 2019

11 May 19 Vienna (AT) Vienna Metal Meeting

07 Aug 19 Fortress Josefov (CZ) Brutal Assault (Exact date TBA)

08 Aug 19 Caton Hall (UK) Bloodstock Open Air 2019 (Exact date TBA)

10 Aug 19 Kortrijk (BE) Alcatraz Festival 2019 (Exact date TBA)

ROTTING CHRIST will be playing in support of their freshly released record ‘The Heretics’ which is streaming via the official Season of Mist YouTube channel here. The album artwork, created by Maximos Manolis, and album details of ‘The Heretics’ can be found below.



1. In The Name of God (04:14)

2. Vetry Zlye (Ветры злые) (03:13)

3. Heaven and Hell and Fire (04:52)

4. Hallowed Be Thy Name (05:06)

5. Dies Irae (03:46)

6. I Believe (ΠΙΣΤΕΥΩ) (03:42)

7. Fire God And Fear (04:50)

8. The Voice of the Universe (05:23)

9. The New Messiah (03:07)

10. The Raven (05:23)

Total: 43:36


ROTTING CHRIST have reached another peak in their long career that now spans over more than three decades. The Greeks have literally stood the test of time. With a steady core line-up and their well-honed live delivery, ROTTING CHRIST are filling concert halls and reap enthusiastic crowd reactions wherever they go. This demonstration of love from their followers is not just driven by nostalgia as the band has managed to evolve and grow, while staying relevant beyond the classics with their highly acclaimed latest albums such as ‘Aealo’ (2010), ‘Κατά τον δαίμονα εαυτού’ (2013), and ‘Rituals’ (2016).Now, with the new offering ‘The Heretics’, ROTTING CHRIST are opening a brand new chapter.

With confidence and skills derived from experience, each song represents its own sonic universe. Guitarist and vocalist Sakis Tolis in collaboration with his brother Themis on drums achieve a perfect balance of amalgamating their classic and unique style of riffing and rhythm with exciting new elements sprinkled in to keep their material exciting and fresh. The experienced is enhanced by Jens Bogren’s equally clear and transparent yet also massive as well as sombre mix and mastering at his widely renowned Fascination Street Studios (AMORPHIS, BORKNAGAR, MOONSPELL, DEVIN TOWNSEND, and many more).

ROTTING CHRIST were founded by Sakis Tolis and his brother Themis in the year 1987. Starting out on a basis of death and grind, the Greeks had already embarked on a darker musical journey by the time their debut full-length ‘Thy Mighty Contract’ (1993) was revealed. On the following seven albums covering a ten-year period from ‘Non Serviam’ (1994) to ‘Sanctus Diavolos’ (2004), ROTTING CHRIST steadily defined their own distinct style by experimenting with elements from death, heavy, and gothic metal without betraying their black roots. At the same time, the band went from underground heroes to headliner status. With the highly acclaimed ninth album, ‘Theogonia’ (2007), the Greek stalwarts added an unmistakable native element to their sound, which has remained with them as a signature trademark ever since. Exploring the mythical legacy of cultures around the globe let to ROTTING CHRIST’s massively successful latest release, ‘Rituals’ (2016).

With more than 30 years, 13 studio albums, a dozen EPs, singles and split releases, as well as more than 1.250 shows under their belt, 2018 marked the year of ‘Their Greatest Spells’ (2018), where they musically revisited their exciting legacy to connect their past with the present. ‘The Heretics’ marks another step in the evolution of the Greek masters. Buckle up for a fascinating musical ride through the woes of religious wars, Zoroastrianism and the eternal war between good and evil.  Metal at its best!

Guest Musicians:

Irina Zybina (GRAI): Vocals on ‘Vetry Zlye’

Dayal Patterson: Intoning on ‘Fire God and Fear’

Ashmedi  (MELECHESH): Vocals on ‘The Voice of the Universe’

Stratis Steele: Intoning on ‘The Raven’


Sakis Tolis: vocals, guitar

Themis Tolis: drums

Vangelis Karzis: bass

George Emmanuel: guitar

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.