Full Stream of IOMAIR’s Debut Self-Titled Album


Inching near the release of their debut self-titled album on September 21st, Toronto’s newest progressive metal band IOMAIR are sharing with fans the full length’s full stream via Prog-Sphere.com. Founded by drummer/vocalist Dylan Gowan, the album features a cast of characters from several well-known Toronto metal bands including Vesperia, Asaroth Incarnate, Völur, Hallows Die, Sludgehammer, Bloodmoon Collective and The Silence Factory.Combining haunting violin work with blackened growls, melodic singing, heavy riffs and thundering drums, IOMAIR creates a style that’s unique for all members involved. Their self-titled album was written by Gowan in 2017 as a way to cope with the personal challenges he faced throughout the year.  The nine-song release is a collection of musical stories that center on the universal themes of love, yearning, trials of life and self-reflection. Spanning a multitude of influences including folk metal, melodic death metal, prog and even Latin music, IOMAIR aims to delight listeners with often unexpected twists while offering an outlet for hardship.IOMAIR are suggested for fans of Opeth, Devin Townsend, Porcupine Tree and anyone who enjoys heavy, melodic progressive metal.

Gowan comments:

“All the lyrics involved are about personal struggles, relationships and the trials of life. These experiences inspired me to write so that I could walk away from those experiences intact rather than broken. All of the tracks on the album are all about the personal struggles we all go through in life, and I hope people will find comfort in these songs knowing that they are not alone.”.

Listen to the full stream below.http://www.prog-sphere.com/specials/iomair-self-titled-album-exclusive-premiere/

IOMAIR’s self-titled debut album is set to be released worldwide on September 21, 2018 via Infamous Butcher Records and available for order at the following link: http://smarturl.it/iomair

Track Listing:

1. Cast Away

2. By Design

3. Dance of Eternal Insanity

4. Embodiment of Emptiness

5. What Are You Waiting For?

6. Cavalcade for None

7. Yearning

8. Healing

9. Forever Travelling Within

Album Band Line Up:

Dylan Gowan – Composition, Arrangements, Drums, Vocals

Sam Astaroth – Vocals

Tyler Williams – Bass

Morgan Rider – Bass

Gabriel Bateman – Vocals

Laura C. Bates – Violin

Nathan Schiller – Guitar

Live Band Line Up:

Dylan Gowan – Drums, Vocals

Sam Astaroth – Vocals

Tyler Williams – Bass

Gabriel Bateman – Vocals

Laura C. Bates – Violin

Nathan Schiller – Guitar

Mike Amicarelli – Guitar

For more info:






Iomair, (Scottish Gaelic for the word “Row”) is the experimental and progressive new band created by Drummer/Vocalist/Songwriter Dylan Gowan (Vesperia). The name reflects on Dylan’s Scottish/Irish ancestry and the songs are reflections of personal circumstances present in Dylan’s life. Established in late 2017 in Scarborough, Ontario, Canada, with the desire to create something progressive and unorthodox, Iomair draws influences from all genres including metal, folk, latin and funk and especially from bands such as Opeth, Cynic and Porcupine Tree. As the primary composer and songwriter for the band, Dylan approaches topics relating to personal struggles that everyone can relate to. “I hope people will find comfort in these songs knowing that you’re not alone with your struggles.”  The self-titled debut album features nine songs ranging from 4 and a half to 7 minutes in true prog fashion. It will be available September 21, 2018 on Infamous Butcher Records.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.