Ne Obliviscaris announce new bass player and kick off European tour


In advance of their European tour starting in Ireland’s capital Dublin coming Sunday, NE OBLIVISCARIS are now revealing the name of their new master on the heavy strings. Italian born Martino Garattoni (ANCIENT BARDS) will take over bass-duties. NE OBLIVISCARIS introduce Martino Garattoni via a play-through video of their track “Libera”, which is taken from the band’s latest album ‘Urn’, which is streaming at the link below and available for immediate publication.

NE OBLIVISCARIS comment: “We are extremely excited to announce the newest member of the NeO family, our new bassist, Martino Garattoni! Many of you will recognise him from our recent tours in North America as well as in Australia and New Zealand where he fit right in, both on stage and off, from day one, finding an instant chemistry with us that has made this such an easy decision. And now with this exciting news, we fly out to Europe to start our headline tour with ALLEGAEON and VIRVUM this weekend! See you on the road!”Martino Garattoni states: “I took a huge blind leap into this band, as they did with me. I found something fascinating: a mixture of different people and unbelievably excellent musicians that write so much cool stuff that I can definitely call them one of my favourite bands ever, and now friends, and I really couldn’t ask for something better than this. I feel honoured to embark on this journey and am looking forward to sharing as much time as possible doing what we love and share it with you all.”


NE OBLIVISCARIS will be touring Europe in support of their latest masterpiece, ‘Urn’, which has been released on October 27th 2017.’Urn’ is streaming in full at the link below.

See below for a list of all currently confirmed shows worldwide.



25 Mar 18 Dublin (IE) Voodoo Lounge 27 Mar 18 Glasgow (UK) Audio

28 Mar 18 Nottingham (UK) Rescue Rooms

29 Mar 18 Manchester (UK) Rebellion

30 Mar 18 London (UK) The Dome

31 Mar 18 Eindhoven (NL) Dynamo

01 Apr 18 Köln (DE) MTC

02 Apr 18 Wiesbaden (DE) Schlachthof

04 Apr 18 München (DE) Backstage

05 Apr 18 Leipzig (DE) Naumanns

06 Apr 18 Hamburg (DE) Headcrash

07 Apr 18 Aarhus (DK) Royal Metal Fest

08 Apr 18 Göteborg (SE) Sticky Fingers

09 Apr 18 Oslo (NO) Blå

10 Apr 18 Stockholm (SE) Fryhuset Klubben

12 Apr 18 Helsinki (FI) Nosturi

13 Apr 18 Tallinn (EE) Tapper

14 Apr 18 Vilnius (LT) Rock River Club

15 Apr 18 Poznan (PL) Pod Minoga

17 Apr 18 Bielsko Bia?a (PL) Rudeboy Club

18 Apr 18 Kosice (SK) Collosseum

19 Apr 18 Budapest (HU) Dürer Kert

20 Apr 18 Brno (CZ) Melodka

21 Apr 18 Wien (AT) Escape Metalcornen

22 Apr 18 Retorbido (IT) Dagda Club

23 Apr 18 Baden (CH) Kulturlokal Werkk

26 Apr 18 Barcelona (ES) Razzmatazz 2

27 Apr 18 Madrid (ES) Nazca

29 Apr 18 Nantes (FR) Ferrailleur

01 May 18 Paris (FR) Gibus

02 May 18 Nancy (FR) L’Autre Canal

Below you can view the uncensored European ‘Urn’ cover, which has been created by NE OBLIVISCARIS vocalist Xenoyr.



1. Libera (Part I) – Saturnine Spheres (9:52)

2. Libera (Part II) – Ascent of Burning Moths (2:36)

3. Intra Venus (7:29)

4. Eyrie (11:51)

5. Urn (Part I) – And Within The Void We Are Breathless (7:30)

6. Urn (Part II) – As Embers Dance In Our Eyes (6:38)

Total playing time: 45:56


NE OBLIVISCARIS’ third album, ‘Urn’ is bound to be a career defining moment. The Australian extreme prog shooting stars have honed and re-balanced the key elements of their unique sound to a razor sharp musical edge. The dynamic entwining of fierce growls and emotive clean vocals, the contrast between devastating et intricate guitar riffs and thundering drums against an unleashed violin and gorgeous string parts as well as the perfect blending of epic progressive and intense extreme metal forms of expression are all marking a new peak in the steep rise of the band.

Founded in the beautiful Australian coastal city of Melbourne, Victoria in the year 2003, NE OBLIVISCARIS took the inspiration for their name from the proud motto of Clan Campbell based in Argyll, Scotland, which means “forget not”. From the start, this collective of exceptional musicians made it clear that they did not intend to follow any trends or walk on well-trodden paths. Their first demo, ‘The Aurora Veil’ (2007) had a massive impact in the metal underground far beyond the fifth continent and already their debut full-length ‘Portal of I’ (2012) reached mainstream music press, which praised a unique array of influences and the characteristic virtuoso violin.

NE OBLIVISCARIS immediately climbed remarkably higher on the ladder with sophomore opus ‘Citadel’ (2014) by adding avant-garde approaches including jazz, flamenco, progressive rock, and many other wide-ranged influences to their solid metal base.Parallel to their success on a critical level and with an ever-growing host of die-hard fans, the Australians increased their reputation as an excellent live act with extensive touring literally around the globe. The financial base for this was laid by NE OBLIVISCARIS’ ground-breaking use of modern day crowd-funding campaigns. This includes an ongoing Patreon membership scheme under the moniker The Ne Obluminati, which is revolutionising the relationship between band and fans by using the ancient concept of patronage in today’s democratic setting.’Urn’ will lift NE OBLIVISCARIS to the next level. Outstanding musicianship meets excellent songwriting and a firework of brilliant ideas. Evening out the scales between extreme and progressive metal, the Aussies carve their own path. Spin ‘Urn’ on heavy rotation and NE OBLIVISCARIS will take you to a whole new dimension of musical delights.

Current line-up

Xenoyr: harsh vocals

Tim Charles: violin and clean vocals

Benjamin Baret: lead and acoustic guitars

Matt Klavins: guitars

Martino Garattoni: bass

Dan Presland: drums

Recording line-upXenoyr: harsh vocals

Tim Charles: violin and clean vocals

Benjamin Baret: lead and acoustic guitars

Matt Klavins: guitars

Dan Presland: drums

Guest musicians:

Robin Zielhorst: bass (all tracks)

Emma Charles and Natalija May: additional violins (tracks 1, 4, and 6)

Tim Hennessy: cello (tracks 1, 3, 4, and 6)



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.