L’ACÈPHALE: Invisible Oranges Premieres New Self-Titled Album In Full From Portland’s Black Metal Conspirators

Self-titled third LP due out April 19 + Band to perform at Roadburn tomorrow


Portland black metal conspirators L’ACÈPHALE are proud to announce that their  impending self-titled album, L’ Acéphale, is streaming in full via Invisible Oranges, ahead of its April 19 release date.

Invisible Oranges calls L’ Acéphale “ambitious and multifaceted,” and writer Brian O’Neill praises many of the self-titled album’s songs; including the “eerie Gothic melodrama” “Gloria In Excelsis Mihi,” the Wolves in the Throne Room-esque “Sovereignty,” and the pagan war song “Hark! The Battle-Cry Is Ringing.”

Listen to the band’s thunderous third album, L’ Acéphale, in full at this location.

The tracks on this titanous, 74-minute magnum opus offer a varied, yet focused, listen with copious tension. While staying committed to their extreme metal roots and historical literary themes, L’ACÈPHALE incorporates elements of monumental dark folk, spoken word, black metal, and almost martial-like art forms.

Recorded over the course of six years at various locations, with primary recording and final mixing taking place at Gabriel Espinoza’s studio, the Hellhole, the album contains feral fires that open to dormant specters. L’ Acéphale was mastered by Gus Elg at Sky Onion in Portland, Oregon, coupled with stand out illustrations by Markus Wolff (Neurosis, Tribes of Neurot, Agalloch, Antlers) and features extensive layout design by John Haughm (Pillorian, ex-Agalloch).

Today, April 12, the band is set to plunge Roadburn 2019 into a void of complete darkness in Tilburg, the Netherlands. You can read more about that here.


Set Sothis Nox La – vocals, keyboards
Jared Huston – guitars, vocals
Markus Wolff – moog synthesizer, vocals
Danny Costa – bass
Charlie Mumma – drums

Guest musicians:

Geneviève Beaulieu – vocals, guitars, keyboard
Liz Abyss – vocals

Tour Dates:

4/12 – Tilburg, NE @ Roadburn Festival 2019
4/15 – Brussels, BE @ Magasin 4
4/16 – Paris, FR @ Le Klub
4/18 – Winterthur, CH @ Sanatorium
4/19 – Leipzig, DE @ UT Connewitz
4/20 – Prague, CZ @ (A)VOID Floating Gallery
4/21 – Neustadt, DE @Raging Death Days
4/22 – Antwerp, NE @ Het Bos




L’Acéphale Track Listing:

1. Sovereignty

2. In Gloria In Excelsis Mihi

3. Runenburg

4. Hark! The Battle-Cry is Ringing

5. Last Will

6. Sleep

7. Winternacht


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.