KEN mode embark on European tour

KEN mode are about to kick off their European dates with BIRDS IN A ROW and COILGUNS at the Temps Machine, Joué (FR) tomorrow, November 15. The tour sees the band hit several stages throughout Europe, until a final curtain at Magazin 4 in Brussel (BE) on December 02. A full list of confirmed shows can be found below.

Regarding the tour, Jesse Matthewson comments:

“It’s been a long three and a half years since we’ve been over to Europe, so we’re very excited to embark on the second leg of our dates with Birds In Row – with a bonus Coilguns for good measure! Our brand of nihilistic noise has always been appreciated by the French, so we’re doing a lot of shows in France on this trip, but we’re already planning dates for 2019 for some other spots that we missed this time around. The first round of dates in the US were some of the best shows we’ve ever had, so we’re very stoked to get back to Europe!”



15 Nov 18 Joué (FR) Temps Machine

16 Nov 18 Orléans (FR) Astrolabe

17 Nov 18 Bordeaux (FR) Void

18 Nov 18 Toulouse (FR) Rex

19 Nov 18 Montpellier (FR) Blacksheep

20 Nov 18 Clermont (FR) Raymond

21 Nov 18 Lausanne (CH) Romandie

22 Nov 18 Besancon (FR) L’Antonnoir

23 Nov 18 Karlsruhe (DE) Die Stadtmitte

24 Nov 18 Gigors (FR) CBGC’S

25 Nov 18 Milano (IT) Magnolia

26 Nov 18 Nice (FR) Altherax

27 Nov 18 Nantes (FR) Le Ferrailleur

28 Nov 18 Le Havre (FR) Fort de Tourneville

29 Nov 18 Paris (FR) Le Petit Bain

30 Nov 18 Lille (FR) Le Bistrot de St. So

01 Dec 18 London (UK) Macbeth

02 Dec 18 Brussel (BE) Magasin 4

KEN mode have previously released a brand new video for the track “Learning To Be Too Cold” which was taken from their recently released new album ‘Loved’. Watch the video via Decibel magazine here!


KEN mode – ‘Learning To Be Too Cold’

KEN mode will be touring in support of their new album ‘Loved‘. The unnerving cover art, created by Randy Ortiz,  can be viewed together with the album details below.


Track-list ‘Loved’

1. Doesn’t Feel Pain Like He Should (2:51)

2. The Illusion Of Dignity (4:43)

3. Feathers & Lips (2:31)

4. Learning To Be Too Cold (3:08)

5. Not Soulmates (2:47)

6. Very Small Men (2:32)

7. This Is A Love Test (4:38)

8. Fractures In Adults (3:49)

9. No Gentle Art (8:29)

Total playing time: 35:28


Kill Everyone Now mode – an ethos legendary Black Flag frontman Henry Rollins would use to describe the band’s state of mind while taking the stage for the endless touring cycle of their genre defying classic album, ‘My War’. This proved to be the psychological foundation / attitude for the project brothers Jesse and Shane Matthewson formed in 1999 in their home of Winnipeg, Canada and that would see them spread a manic form of metal and hardcore infused with noise rock for their entire adult lives. Cutting their teeth in the early aughts with a pair of records ‘Mongrel’ (2003) and ‘Reprisal’ (2006), KEN mode rose from underground notoriety with their JUNO award winning album ‘Venerable’ in 2011. This marked a decided shift for the band, embarking on an unrelenting touring schedule for the following five years with acts such as RUSSIAN CIRCLES, TORCHE, DEAFHEAVEN, KYLESA, REVOCATION and TODAY IS THE DAY, followed up by Season of Mist-released full lengths ’Entrench’ (2013) and ‘Success’ (2015). Those records saw the band hit a multitude of major festivals like SXSW, Hellfest Open Air, CMJ Festival, Pitchfork Festival Chicago, Hopscotch Festival, and Roadburn Festival; and even doing live sessions for renowned institutions such as BBC Radio 1 and Daytrotter. But burnout was inevitable, and in 2016 KEN mode took a step back to regroup. Core members Shane and Jesse formed their own music business management services company, MKM Management, while bassist Scott Hamilton released records with his other bands ADOLYNE and GREYLIGHT DISTRICT. In 2017 the band began writing with a newfound focus and desire, in the most collaborative effort they have ever put together. ‘Loved’, the band’s brand new vicious full length may be the KEN mode’s quintessential statement of violence and despair made sonic. Drawing from not only the desperate noise and industrial sonics of the ‘80s and ‘90s, the band mixes in the decidedly more extreme tone and presence of death and black metal, expertly captured by Andrew Schneider’s (UNSANE, CAVE IN, DAUGHTERS) sick vision of noise and girth. ‘Loved’ represents yet another pivot point in the group’s sound, a departure from the indie/noise punk focused ‘Success’ album. The group delves deeper and darker than ever before.


Jesse Matthewson – vocals, guitar, percussion, piano

Shane Matthewson – drums

Scott Hamilton – bass, backing vocals, percussion

Kathryn Kerr – saxophone


Track #8 ‘Fractures In Adults’ –

Drew Johnston – bass

Adam Dyson – backing vocals

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.