HEXVESSEL announce new studio album „All Tree”, cover artwork revealed


Cover art photography by Bastian Kalous

HEXVESSEL announce new studio album „All Tree”, cover artwork revealed

” It’s important for us to herald All Tree’s release on All Hallows Eve or Samhain because the veils are drawn, when the doorways between this world and the otherworld are open for spirits to pass through. This is a time of year when we, still to this day, make offerings to the spirits through “trick or treat” rituals. Those spirits represent our landscapes and wilderness.”

Mat McNerney

HEXVESSEL and Century Media Records are happy to announce the release of HEXVESSEL’s fourth studio album, “All Tree”, the successor to the band’s highly acclaimed album “When We Are Death” (2016).

HEXVESSEL’s singer Mat McNernery comments on the new album:

“All Tree is not just about going back to the heart of Hexvessel, with a slight return to our forest folk roots, it’s about drawing fresh inspiration from my own heritage too. The English pastoral folk influences are infused with Celtic mythology from my Anglo-Irish blood, with Finnish nature as our backdrop.  From the Canterbury folk scene and early prog bands that soundtracked my youth in England, to the ghost stories I was told as a child on my uncles farm in Ireland, this album is a spiritual journey where the old myths are doorways to enlightenment. The dawn light across boggy fields, the wind blowing through the keyhole, the branches dragging their breath inwards as the seasons ignite a magic sense of mystery about the wilderness. That’s what we tried to bring out into the songs on this album. By bowing old dead tree branches with violin bows, by summoning the sounds of the fire and the birds in the field outside, we gave the music a life which, like the liminal spirits of Samhain drifts in and out of this world. That’s what folk means. It’s the countryside singing out from within me. It’s their story we sing. And no matter where I go or where I end up staying, it’s that folk countryside which is the seed from which I sprang. All Tree.”

“All Tree” will be released on CD, LP and digitally on February 15th , 2019. The pre-sale will start in mid-November. The first new song from the album will be released in early December. Stay tuned!


HEXVESSEL line-up:

Mathew Kvohst McNerney – Vocals

Andrew McIvor – Acoustic guitars

Kimmo Helén – Piano, Keys, Viola, Bass guitar

Jukka Rämänen – Drums, Percussion, Bass guitar

Jesse Heikkinen – Lead guitar, Acoustic guitars & 12-string guitars

Antti Haapapuro –  Sound effects, field recordings, master of ceremonies

Marja Konttinen – Vocals, percussion




Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.