Der Weg Einer Freiheit kick off tour and announce tour dates for Japan

DER WEG EINER FREIHEIT are kicking off their festival road-trip at the mighty Reykjavik Death-fest in Iceland tonight. The fast rising German black metal innovators have furthermore updated their festival appearances, including Japanese tour dates together with DOWNFALL OF GAIA.A list of all currently confirmed shows can be found below.

Vocalist Nikita Kamprad comments:

“After our highly successful tour with PRIMORDIAL and MOONSORROW last month, we can’t wait to finally kick off our festival season in Iceland at Reykjavik Deathfest today. It’s with great pleasure to be playing our music in this beautiful scenery among many other great bands such as DDEAD CONGREGATION, DODECAHEDRON and PSYCROPTIC. Later this summer we’re playing Vainstream in Münster, our hometown of Würzburg at Umsonst & Draußen and finally Dark Bombastic Evening in Transylvania, Romania in August. We hope to see many familiar and new faces around!”



17 May 18 Reykjavik (IS) Reykjavik Deathfest 2018

21 Jun 18 Würzburg (DE) Umsonst & Draußen

30 Jun 18 Münster (DE) Vainstream Rockfest

16 Aug 18 Alba Iulia (RO) Dark Bombastic Evening

17 Nov 18 Oignies (FR) Tyrant Fest

28 Apr 19 Oslo (NO) Inferno Metal Festival


21 Sep 18 Osaka Shinsaibashi (JP) Shovel

22 Sep 18 Tokyo Daikanyama (JP) Space ODD


DER WEG EINER FREIHEIT will be touring in support of their latest album, ‘Finisterre’, which is still available in various formats via Season of Mist:

Please find artwork, track-list, and further information below.


1. Aufbruch (9:49)

2. Ein letzter Tanz (13:49)

3. Skepsis Part I (5:05)

4. Skepsis Part II (5:36)

5. Finisterre (11:13)


The musical puzzle that adds up to become DER WEG EINER FREIHEIT turns into something more complex – yet also clearer defined on the band’s fourth studio album, ‘Finisterre’. The original pieces are still in play: the aggressive German directness akin to ENDSTILLE and a penchant for brooding melancholy as embodied by IMPERIUM DEKADENZ. Spiralling psychedelic moments comparable to DEAFHEAVEN and WOLVES IN THE THRONE ROOM also find their place – as well as a knack for majestic melodies that shows parallels in Swedish black metal spearheaded by MARDUK and DARK FUNERAL.

Yet while DER WEG EINER FREIHEIT are clearly progressing along the lines laid out by their previous acclaimed effort, ‘Stellar’, the band has found a way to make these pieces fit more seamlessly. ‘Finisterre’ flows together into a coherent picture that stresses the Germans’ unique approach and sound. This album marks the point where DER WEG EINER FREIHEIT turn their various influences into a work entirely of their own expression despite never trying to cover up their roots. This impressive maturity has been reached through several stages.

Founded in 2009 by guitarist Nikita Kamprad and vocalist Tobias Jaschinsky, DER WEG EINER FREIHEIT garnered early attention with their self-released debut ‘Der Weg einer Freiheit’ (2009), which quickly sold out and was re-issued with new drum tracks a year later. Following the ‘Agonie’ EP (2011), their second album ‘Unstille’ (2012) already cored international acclaim. In the aftermath of this record, co-founding member Tobias left and main songwriter Nikita Kamprad took over his vocal duties. The frontman was first heard on third full-length ‘Stellar’ (2015), which saw DER WEG EINER FREIHEIT gaining traction across the pond as well as expanding their European base. Having performed along such diverse acts as WOLVES IN THE THRONE ROOM, NEAERA, THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER, AMENRA, CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX, and DOWNFALL OF GAIA as well as playing prestigious festivals such as Graspop, Hellfest, Resurrection, Roadburn, Summer Breeze, and Wacken has honed the band’s songwriting skills to razor-sharp precision.

‘Finisterre’ clearly stands at the apex (for now) of the steep climb that DER WEG EINER FREIHEIT have taken. This German star is finally shining in full black.

Current line-up

Nikita Kamprad: guitars, vocals

Tobias Schuler: drums

Nico Rausch: guitars

Nico Ziska: bass

Recording line-up

Nikita Kamprad: guitars, bass, vocals

Tobias Schuler: drums

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.