D.D. Verni (Overkill) unveils cover artwork and tracklist for his upcoming solo album

“Barricade” is upon us.D.D. Verni reveal artwork and tracklist of his solo album


“Barricade” tracklist:

01. Fire Up

02. Miracle Drug

03. Off My Leash

04. (We are) The Broken Ones

05. Lost In The Underground

06. The Party of No

07. Night of the Swamp King

08. We Were Young

09. Slow My Ride

​10. Heaven Calling​

First single taken off “Barricade” was “Fire Up”, released in late April and has surpassed 100.000 plays on Spotify now.Pre-order “Barricade” now on CDWhite LP (limited to 500 copies) and digital.”There’s some metal, punk, classic rock…..its all in there, from Queen to Green Day to Metallica, I think we covered all the basses!”, declares D.D. Verni.

See the “Fire Up” lyric video here.

D.D. Verni’s first effort has a host of guitar players doing guest spots on the record. Jeff Loomis (Arch Enemy), Angus Clark (Trans Siberian Orchestra), Jeff Waters (Annihilator), Bruce Franklin (Trouble), Mike Romeo (Symphony X), Mike Orlando (Adrenaline Mob), Steve Leonard (Almost Queen) and Andre “Virus” Karkos (Dope), who also contributed the rhythm guitar tracks. Rounding out the group is former Overkill drummer Ron Lipnicki. The record was mixed and mastered by Chris “Zuess” Harris (Rob Zombie, Queensryche, Hatebreed).

In addition to 18 Overkill full-length releases, Verni has 4 releases with his side band The Bronx Casket Co. D.D. Verni continues “So, why do a solo record….well I never really stop writing material, and after some time it starts to pile up and take shape and I wonder what it will be. In the past anything that was not Overkill material I would put aside for my other band The Bronx Casket Co, but when I starting pulling these songs together it was clearly not that, and I thought, OK I guess it’s a solo record. The material was kinda Metal and kinda Rock and kinda Punk, so those really are my basic influences. In Overkill I take all that background and funnel it into our Thrash sound. But these songs were not Thrash but a combination of the other stuff. I would never really have an interest in doing a record that was thrash sounding outside of Overkill, I just don’t think it could be any better. The fun is trying new shit and seeing where it goes for me. I could always do all the instruments myself as I have in the past on projects but thought this could be a good opportunity to try working with some new people. My wife was hearing me thinking out loud and basically said why don’t you just call some guys who’s work you like and see if they would be interested, and so that’s what I did”.

Touring in both the US and Europe is currently being booked.

The album will be released on limited colour WHITE LP (500 copies only), CD and digital.

CD format: PMZ273CD / Barcode: 5700907265940

LP (limited colour WHITE): PMZ273LP / Barcode: 5700907266121


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.