Archspire on national tv in Canada

Canadian Television has interviewed Spencer Prewett regarding the band’s recent nomination for the JUNO award – the national equivalent of the Grammy award. The ARCHSPIRE drummer is featured in his hometown of Oak Bay in Victoria, BC and the interview includes segments with local residents and mayor Nils Jensen. The feature is now streaming at ARCHSPIRE’s Facebook page at the link below.

A full list of currently confirmed ARCHSPIRE shows can be viewed below.



06 Apr 18 Vancouver (CA) Astoria


12 Apr 18 Tokyo (JP) Cyclone

13 Apr 18 Tokyo (JP) Cylcone

14 Apr 18 Nagoya (JP) Club 3 Start Imaike

15 Apr 18 Osaka (JP) Soma


18 Apr 18 New York, NY (US) The Gramercy Theatre

19 Apr 18 Richmond, VA (US) The Canal Club

20 Apr 18 Worcester, MA (US) The Palladium

21 Apr 18 Reading, PA (US) Reverb

22 Apr 18 Cleveland, OH (US) Agora Theatre

24 Apr 18 Pontiac, MI (US) The Crofoot

25 Apr 18 Indianapolis, IN (US) Emerson Theater

26 Apr 18 Joliet, IL (US) The Forge

27 Apr 18 Saint Paul, MN (US) Amsterdam Bar and Hall

28 Apr 18 Sioux Falls (US) Bigs Bar

29 Apr 18 Denver, CO (US) The Summit Music Hall

01 May 18 Seattle, WA (US) Studio Seven

02 May 18 Portland, OR (US) Hawthorne Theater

04 May 18 Santa Cruz, CA (US) The Catalyst

05 May 18 Los Angeles, CA (US) The Regent Theater


ARCHSPIRE have provided a rather challenging karaoke video of the track, ‘Calamus Will Animate’, which is streaming via the Season of Mist YouTube channel at the link below. Are you keeping up?

ARCHSPIRE will be touring in support of their acclaimed latest album, ‘Relentless Mutation’.

The cover of ‘Relentless Mutation’ by renowned artist Eliran Kantor can be viewed below.


1. Involuntary Doppelgänger (3:46)

2. Human Murmuration (4:13)

3. Remote Tumour Seeker (4:01)

4. Relentless Mutation (4:35)

5. The Mimic Well (4:05)

6. Calamus Will Animate (3:50)

7. A Dark Horizontal (6:10)


Welcome to first class technical death metal madness. Machinegun vocals rattle remorselessly over a furious flurry of arpeggios, scales, and everything else that the two string wizards of ARCHSPIRE can pick at break-finger speed out their guitars. If this sounds hardly human at the level of technical execution, the Gatling-style hyper-drumming pushing these monstrous compositions forward is adding to the alien impression. It cannot even be a question that the Canadians have outdone themselves with their third full-length, ‘Relentless Mutation’.

This album is simply insane in a most excellent way. The level of musicianship that ARCHSPIRE offer, will leave even tech death fans drooling. Yet the outfit from Vancouver in British Columbia is bringing an important extra to the table, the rare ability to write great songs. ‘Relentless Mutation’ is not just another compilation of outstanding musicianship, but the songs come with recognisable patterns that make sense in the greater conceptual framework of the album. And a clever use of contrasts leaves moments of clarity for the listener to take a breath and get ready for the next assault.

ARCHSPIRE exploded onto the scene in the year 2009 – after an earlier prelude under the moniker DEFENESTRATED. The band grew out of the rich Canadian scene for technical extremes that includes illustrious names such as GORGUTS or BEYOND CREATION. Yet ARCHSPIRE set out to take the sound to the next level from the start as their debut album ‘All Shall Align’ (2011) made clear, which immediately received critical comparison with the scene’s spearheads like OBSCURA. The band developed a lyrical concept revolving around a dystopian science fiction universe, which was expanded on their sophomore full-length, ‘The Lucid Collective’ (2014) that witnessed ARCHSPIRE gaining widespread international recognition as one of the hottest names within the tech death community and beyond.

With ‘Relentless Mutation’, the Canadians are pushing the limits of their genre even further than before on all levels. ARCHSPIRE come crushing like a whirlwind to free ears and minds from pre-conceived notions about technical death metal. Time to leave your shelter and face the tempest. This is the future.

The cover of ‘Relentless Mutation’ has been painted by renowned artist Eliran Kantor already well-known in the metal world for his works for TESTAMENT, ATHEIST, and HATE ETERNAL among others.


Dean Lamb: guitar

Spencer Prewett: drums

Oliver Rae Aleron: vocals

Tobi Morelli: guitar

Jared Smith: bass


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.