Archspire kick off European tour and receive award nomination

ARCHSPIRE are about to embark on their massive European tour in support of pig-squeal-masters DESPISED ICON alongside MALEVOLENCE and VULVODYNIA at Conne Island in Leipzig, Germany tomorrow, February 8th.The show in Antwerp, Belgium is already sold out and all UK dates as well as France’s capital Paris report that remaining tickets  are running low. We recommend to secure your entry early. On further news, ARCHSPIRE have just been nominated for the prestigious Canadian Juno Award in the Metal/Hard Music Album of the Year category. Congratulations to the tech death shooting stars from Vancouver!

A full list of confirmed ARCHSPIRE shows can be viewed below, including the recently announced dates with OBSCURA in Japan.



08 Feb 18 Leipzig (DE) Conne Island

09 Feb 18 Köln (DE) Essigfabrik

10 Feb 18 Antwerpen (BE) Kavka (SOLD OUT!)

11 Feb 18 London (UK) The Dome

12 Feb 18 Birmingham (UK) Mama Roux’s

13 Feb 18 Manchester (UK) Gorilla

14 Feb 18 Chelles (Paris) (FR) Les Cuizines

15 Feb 18 Saarbrücken (DE) Garage

16 Feb 18 Aarau (CH) Kiff

17 Feb 18 Cesena (IT) Vidia Club

18 Feb 18 München (DE) Backstage

19 Feb 18 Wien (AT) Arena

20 Feb 18 Praha (CZ) Nova Chmelnice

21 Feb 18 Poznan (PL) U Bazyla

22 Feb 18 Berlin (DE) SO36

23 Feb 18 Hannover (DE) Faust

24 Feb 18 Eindhoven (NL) Dynamo



12 Apr 18 Tokyo (JP) Cyclone

13 Apr 18 Tokyo (JP) Cylcone

14 Apr 18 Nagoya (JP) Club 3 Start Imaike

15 Apr 18 Osaka (JP) Soma


To prepare for the road-rage of ARCHSPIRE, the Canadians have already provided a rather challenging karaoke video of the track, ‘Calamus Will Animate’, which is streaming via the Season of Mist YouTube channel. Are you keeping up?

ARCHSPIRE will be touring in support of their acclaimed latest album, ‘Relentless Mutation’. The artwork of ‘Relentless Mutation’ has been created by renowned artist Eliran Kantor and can be viewed below.


1. Involuntary Doppelgänger (3:46)

2. Human Murmuration (4:13)

3. Remote Tumour Seeker (4:01)

4. Relentless Mutation (4:35)

5. The Mimic Well (4:05)

6. Calamus Will Animate (3:50)

7. A Dark Horizontal (6:10)


Welcome to first class technical death metal madness. Machinegun vocals rattle remorselessly over a furious flurry of arpeggios, scales, and everything else that the two string wizards of ARCHSPIRE can pick at break-finger speed out their guitars. If this sounds hardly human at the level of technical execution, the Gatling-style hyper-drumming pushing these monstrous compositions forward is adding to the alien impression. It cannot even be a question that the Canadians have outdone themselves with their third full-length, ‘Relentless Mutation’.

This album is simply insane in a most excellent way. The level of musicianship that ARCHSPIRE offer, will leave even tech death fans drooling. Yet the outfit from Vancouver in British Columbia is bringing an important extra to the table, the rare ability to write great songs. ‘Relentless Mutation’ is not just another compilation of outstanding musicianship, but the songs come with recognisable patterns that make sense in the greater conceptual framework of the album. And a clever use of contrasts leaves moments of clarity for the listener to take a breath and get ready for the next assault.

ARCHSPIRE exploded onto the scene in the year 2009 – after an earlier prelude under the moniker DEFENESTRATED. The band grew out of the rich Canadian scene for technical extremes that includes illustrious names such as GORGUTS or BEYOND CREATION. Yet ARCHSPIRE set out to take the sound to the next level from the start as their debut album ‘All Shall Align’ (2011) made clear, which immediately received critical comparison with the scene’s spearheads like OBSCURA. The band developed a lyrical concept revolving around a dystopian science fiction universe, which was expanded on their sophomore full-length, ‘The Lucid Collective’ (2014) that witnessed ARCHSPIRE gaining widespread international recognition as one of the hottest names within the tech death community and beyond.With ‘Relentless Mutation’, the Canadians are pushing the limits of their genre even further than before on all levels. ARCHSPIRE come crushing like a whirlwind to free ears and minds from pre-conceived notions about technical death metal. Time to leave your shelter and face the tempest. This is the future.

The cover of ‘Relentless Mutation’ has been painted by renowned artist Eliran Kantor already well-known in the metal world for his works for TESTAMENT, ATHEIST, and HATE ETERNAL among others.


Dean Lamb: guitar

Spencer Prewett: drums

Oliver Rae Aleron: vocals

Tobi Morelli: guitar

Jared Smith: bass

Recording, Mix, and Mastering

Dave Otero at Flatline Audio



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.