ANTHEM – release first digital single “Black Empire”


Japan’s leading traditional heavy metal band, ANTHEM, have signed to Nuclear Blast Records (for the European territory) to break into the worldwide market. The first release, “Nucleus”, will be their greatest hits album, completely re-recorded with English lyrics! Today they release the first single from that album, ‘Black Empire’.

Check out the single here:

Singer Yukio Morikawa comments:

“We are very pleased to release the first single ‘Black Empire’ from the greatest hits album “Nucleus”. The original version is featured a former vocalist Mr. Eizo Sakamoto, so my version is finally revealed to the fans and with English lyrics! The new ‘Black Empire’ has ANTHEM’s passion and soul very much. Please give it a listen!“

Also, today the band announce their festival show in Europe ever: On April 26th-27th 2019, ANTHEM will play at the Keep It True festival in Germany!

Mixing and mastering of “Nucleus” were done by established producer and engineer Jens Bogren, known for his work with a multitude of big name artists. Jens’ work is based on elaborate theories and an abundance of knowledge, which has helped guide the careers of many bands, ANTHEM’s case is no exception. This album which features Jens’ fat sound with rich low-end is more than up to par with the worldwide heavy metal standard.A remarkable point worth noting about this release is that all of the songs except ‘Venom Strike’ were written after their reunion in 2001 – proving that ANTHEM have always has been a ‘today band’ that does not have to rely on their past.This re-recorded greatest hits, which include a variety of their classics is a monumental work, perfectly demonstrating the musical quality of ANTHEM and proving that they can be ranked as a top-notch band even in the international market.

The track list reads as follows:

01. Immortal Blind

02. Black Empire

03. Overload

04. Stranger

05. Linkage

06. Eternal Warrior

07. Ghost In The Flame

08. Venom Strike

09. Awake

Bonus Live CD:

01. Gypsy Ways (Win, Lose Or Draw)

02. Love In Vain

03. Bad Habits Die Hard

04. Legal Killing

05. Cryin’ Heart

06. Silent Child

07. Midnight Sun

08. Shout It Out!

09. Final Risk

10. Night Stalker

Pre-order will start on January 18th.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.