Anciients kick off European tour

ANCIIENTS are scheduled to embark on their an extensive European tour in support of the Canadian heavy rockers’ latest full-length, ‘Voice of the Void’ at the Music City in Antwerp tomorrow – provided their airline stops delaying the flight.

Frontman Kenny Cook commented:

“Hello, friends in Europe and the UK! We are thrilled to be coming back to play for you for the first time since 2014. We’re excited to come to lots of places we’ve yet to play, and to share our latest record with you al . We are bringing our dear friends in Black Wizard along with us this time around. It’s going to be a great tour! See all of you maniacs soon!”

A list of all currently confirmed shows can be viewed below.



01 Mar 18 Antwerp (BE) Music City

02 Mar 18 Hengelo (NL) Innocent

03 Mar 18 Oldenburg (DE) MTS Records

04 Mar 18 Nijmegen (NL) Mereleyn

05 Mar 18 Reims (FR) Excalibur

07 Mar 18 Glasgow (UK) Ivory Blacks

10 Mar 18 Leeds (UK) Temple of Boom

11 Mar 18 Coventy (UK) The Phoenix

12 Mar 18 London (UK) The Black Heart

14 Mar 18 Leiria (PT) Texas Bar

15 Mar 18 Cascais (PT) Stairway Club

16 Mar 18 Figueira de Foz (PT) DRAC

17 Mar 18 Porto (PT) Woodstock 69

18 Mar 18 Madrid (ES) Wurlitzer

19 Mar 18 Barcelona (ES) Rock Sound

22 Mar 18 Bamberg (DE) Sound-N-Arts Music Club

23 Mar 18 Illirska Bistrica (SI) MKMZ

24 Mar 18 Wien (AT) Escape Metal Corner

26 Mar 18 Leipzig (DE) Liwi

27 Mar 18 Berlin (DE) Jägerklause

29 Mar 18 Köln (DE) Jungle

30 Mar 18 Utrecht (NL) dB’s



1. Following the Voice

2. Buried in Sand

3. Worshipper

4. Pentacle

5. Descending

6. Ibex Eye

7. My Home, My Gallows

8. Serpents

9. Incantations


You want an album that delivers smoking hot rock and delicious heaviness in equal measure? ‘Voice of the Void’ does exactly that. An avalanche of brilliant riffs comes crashing down your speakers, driven by a relentlessly pounding rhythm section. Vancouver’s ANCIIENTS have no time to spare, no fillers, no hesitation, they are just pushing and pulling and banging those heads from start to finish.

With their sophomore opus ‘Voice of the Void’, the Canadians are fulfilling all the glorious promises that ‘Heart of Oak’ (2013) already made. In comparison to their critically acclaimed debut full-length, which already contained the musical equivalent of the warm flow, solid earthiness, and beautifully dark undertones of whisky matured in ancient oak casks within an intoxicating song-writing, the new songs have exponentially boosted the tasty formula unique to this band.

ANCIIENTS have remarkably honed their composition skills and moved further into their very own musical territory, which makes it considerably harder to just liken this band to kindred spirits such as MASTODON, KYLESA, BARONESS, THE SWORD, and HIGH ON FIRE and happily drop them into the same box without second thought. Those amazing vocal duels between grim growling and clean singing, which have been brought to perfection, would alone support the constant tension and high dynamics of this record. Yet of course, a barrage of crunchy riffs as their instrumental counterpart maintains the proper balance.

ANCIIENTS were founded in 2009. The outstanding guitarist and vocalist duo Kenneth Paul Cook and Chris Dyck is flanked by Aaron “Boon” Gustafson on bass and drummer Mikey Hannay, who constitutes a mighty powerhouse of quite complex yet heavily driving rhythmical patterns. With the release of their 7″ EP “Snakebeard” (2011) alone, the Canadians were invited to join on the stages of HIGH ON FIRE, GOATWHORE, BORIS and THREE INCHES OF BLOOD. More touring and festivals shows followed the release of highly praised ‘Heart of Oak’, but now ANCIIENTS are ready for the next giant leap of their career. Let ‘Voice of the Void’ rock your mind!

Recording line-up

Kenneth Paul Cook: guitar, vocals

Chris Dyck: guitar, vocals

Aaron “Boon” Gustafson: bass

Mike Hannay: drums

Current line-up

Kenneth Paul Cook: guitar, vocals

Brock MacInnes: guitar

Aaron “Boon” Gustafson: bass, backing vocals

Mike Hannay: drums


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.