ALKYMIST to release selftitled debut album in October


ALKYMIST Photo by Roeluf Witmans

Danish progressive doom metal band ALKYMIST will release their self titled debut album on October 5th via Indisciplinarian. Now, an album trailer is available online along with pre-orders for the vinyl version of the album, and the band is also ready with a couple of Danish fall dates.

See the trailer for ALKYMIST’s debut album HERE

ALKYMIST is a new force in doom metal – a force which, in its own manner, seeks to bring the hope of change into a time of turmoil. The band was formed in 2016 by guitarist Stefan Krey (Gas Giant) and bass player Kaspar Luke (Düreforsög) with the intention of creating the heaviest possible music within a progressive and atmospheric universe. In 2017, the line-up was completed by singer Peter Bjørneg (Detest) and drummer Philip Kjær Morthorst (The Ritual) and, subsequently, the quartet recorded the debut EP ‘Element’, which was released January 2018 to notable national buzz.

Now, ALKYMIST are ready with their self titled debut album, which consists of six grandiose metal compositions over 44 minutes produced by Lasse Ballade (Solbrud, Orm, Slægt). The music on ALKYMIST’s debut album can be defined as progressive doom metal being both crushingly heavy as well as melodic and dynamic conjuring up a simultaneously strange, beautiful and terrifying expression. A general theme on ‘Alkymist’ is an existence which is parallel, wrong and expelled – and an existence from which the suffering subject seeks to be delivered.

‘Alkymist’ will be released on October 5th via Indisciplinarian on LP and digital formats, and the vinyl edition of the album (limited to 500 copies) can now be pre-ordered HERE

ALKYMIST has recently announced a free release show on October 3rd on Loppen, Christiania in Copenhagen, where the band will perform the entire album and is also joined by special guest Leila Abdul-Rauf (Vastum, Hammers of Misfortune). Beside this the band will play a November show with epic metallers Rising and more dates will follow soon.

ALKYMIST live 2018

03.10.18 – Copenhagen, Loppen (DK) w/Leila Abdul-Rauf

24.11.18 – Næstved, Kongebryg (DK) w/Rising

image002.jpg  ALKYMIST – Alkymist Artwork by Anders Kidmose

‘Alkymist’ track list:

1. Ghost

2. Djinn

3. Myling

4. Black Egypt II5. Paradise

6. Serpent

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.