Producers: Jörgen Traeen and Iver Sandöy
Recorded at: Duper Studios, Bergen
Video clip: Out of the City
Review: 88/100 @
Ever wanted to find out what inspired a particular song?

Was it based on personal experience or simply passive observation?

What happened in the recording studio or on stage to make one song sound different from the rest?

These are just some of the question bands and musicians attempt to answer in Line 'em Up - the newest page of The Power Of Metal.Dk.

This is where your favourite bands comment on their albums, track by track, because as someone once said, “Ideas are the building blocks of ideas”.


Line'em Up with Toschie, vocalist in Audrey Horne

Here’s a chance for you to tell our readers about your debut album: "Pure Heavy".

But could you please start off by introducing the readers to the band?

Audrey Horne – We are a hard rock band from Bergen, Norway who have released 5 albums, and delivers a kick ass enjoyable live show.

Could you please give us some info on the album: Where did you record the album and who has produced and mixed it?

Audrey Horne – It was recorded in Duper studios in our hometown Bergen. It was produced by Jörgen Traeen and Iver Sandöy, and mixed by Jörgen Traeen.

And now onto your new album track-by-track, what inspired you, and what do what to express with this song etc.

01. Wolf in my Heart

Audrey Horne – A song written in the classc stadium-rock spirit, lots of cool guitar parts and twin solos. It deals with the restlessness all artists deals with: the wolf in our heart.

It was the first song we wrote for the new album, and was always a natural album opener.

02. Holy Roller

Audrey Horne – Full on NWOBHM feel, and one of my favourites on the album. The slow part in the middle of the song stands out as some of the best melody lines in my opinion. Jörgen plays church organ on it, and the train samples gives it some extra speed I think. It deals with the shitty way the modern church still treats homosexuals.

03. Out of the City

Audrey Horne – The song you need when driving to a party on a Saturday night. It has some classy Thin Lizzy-ish twin guitars, and we have made a realy cool video together with Johan Hegg from Amon Amarth to this song. Check it out.

04. Volcano Girl

Audrey Horne – This is our “men are from Mars, women are from Venus” song. It has a kick ass groove, and the second chorus was very much inspired by us touring with Grand Magus last year. They are not afraid of writing woo-hoo-singalong choruses.

05. Tales from the Crypt

Audrey Horne – Our tribute to all the music we grew up with, and the spirit that existed in hard rock in the 70’s and 80’s. Jörgen turned my cough in the start of the song into a Black Sabbath tribute. Most of the clapping on the song is actuallyy us clapping on our ass, as it supposedly gives a better sound than clapping your hand. The only track to ever give me a sore ass.

06. Diamond

Audrey Horne – A sort of a short intermezzo on the album. We felt the album needed it, so we dugg up an old song that was written for our second album “Le Fol”. So it is the only track that was not written for this album. It was meant to have a lot of background vocals, but we realised that the lyric shows a man gibing up, so it felt more natural to have a single voice that was not too “strong”.

07. Into the Wild

Audrey Horne – We wrote this in a way too high speed, so Jörgen and Iver told us to slow down a lot. I love the fact that it hardly has any dynamic. It just moves like a freight train from start to stop. Killer song to play live.

08. Gravity

Audrey Horne – A great song, guitars are very much inspired by a Norwegian guitar player called Ronnie Le Tekrö. It turned out way more poppy than we intended it. Much because of all the soft backeround- and harmony vocals made and sung by Iver, one of the producers.

09. High and Dry

Audrey Horne – This is almost like a part two of “This ends here” from our previous album “Youngblood”. It has the same pirate theme, and a lot of amazing twin guitars.

A feel-good song for rum drinking and looting.

10. Waiting for the Night

Audrey Horne – Espen, on bass, wrote most of this song, and we all felt it was a bit on the side and it took us some time to get used to it. But when we recorded it, we all fell in love with it, and it is now one of the highlights in our live show. I love the James Bond feel in the opening riff.

11. Boy Wonder

Audrey Horne – The most progressive song on the album. I dubbed the vocal a lot on this, and I love the production on this song. Lyrically it is about how quickly things change in the music business these days, and one have to be prepared to be in it for the long run in order to create something meaningful.

Tell us a bit about the artwork – who made it etc. and how important do you feel it is to have a cool artwork?

Audrey Horne – It was made by an artist, a friend of ours called Asle Birkeland. We gave him free hands to do it. We just sent him the album and told him to create something that fitted the music. I think that is the most import ant thing about an artwork, besides the fact that it has to be visible in order to make people notice it.

Any last words you want to round this interview off with?

Audrey Horne – Check out our albums, and if you don’t know them: check out our danish friends in Pet the preacher, who will join us on our European tour starting in Essen, Germany on the 26th of November. It will sadly not take us to Denmark this time, but fingers crossed for next time.

Stay Pure Heavy folks!


Kenn Jensen, October 2014