Produced & mixed by: Nick Savio
Mastered by: Erik Broheden at Masters of Audio
MySpace: Hollow Haze @ MySpace
Facebook: Hollow Haze @ FB
Video clip: Haunting the Sinner
Review: 85/100 @
Ever wanted to find out what inspired a particular song?

Was it based on personal experience or simply passive observation?

What happened in the recording studio or on stage to make one song sound different from the rest?

These are just some of the question bands and musicians attempt to answer in Line 'em Up - the newest page of The Power Of Metal.Dk.

This is where your favourite bands comment on their albums, track by track, because as someone once said, “Ideas are the building blocks of ideas”.



Here’s a chance for you to tell our readers about your new album “Poison in Black”. But could you please start off by introducing the readers to you?

Hello to all readers of Power of Metal! Here is Dave Cestaro, Hollow Haze bass player and below the wonderful review of Tommy Skøtt, we introduce in detail our latest endeavor: Poison in Black!

With this fourth album, the band has stressed his own style, mixing heavy classic to modern sounds with the constant intervention of orchestral and synth sounds. The goal for us has been very rewarding, this is the Hollow Haze sound!!!

At the moment we have an excellent response from the public, the critics, the major sites and newspapers around the world. I remember that the disc was released by Bakerteam / Scarlet Records on September 25 last year.

And now onto “Poison in Black”… track-by-track, what inspired you, what topics are you dealing with, what do you want to express with this song etc.

Sure... Let's go!!!

1. Rise Above (Intro)

This intro is the result of our orchestral keyboardist Simone Giorgini, and especially on stage it sends a really unique and very impact loud! I think this intro will follow our live much longer!

02. Tears Of Pain

This is the opening track. On a devastating time and riffs, the song runs on the fears of every day, felt by everyone in his own mind. These fears create some instability with disruption occurring are also delirium and tears.

03. Never Turn Back

Never turn back has a particularly lyrics. The song is dedicated to a guy who has passed away. Try to look at the future never looked back!

4. Haunting The Sinner

On Haunting the Sinner we created a video clip. The song includes various types of "sin in society." This "hunt sin" is determined by the desire of purification for a new reality!

05. Lords Of World

The powerful companies are destroying our world. Unfortunately, when we realize it will be too late!

6. Hit In Time

The downsides of life and the monotony of every day trapped in a cage of emotions. "Hit in time" expresses the strength to react to it!

7. Chained

The lyrics are a kind of prayer. There are still some terrible situations in our world: wars, imprisonment and other terrible kinds of evil.

8. Pray For You

This my favorites track. A hard rock piece with an engaging chorus! A reflective monologue. The desire to change something in our lives, but the fears and difficult situations are stopping us...

09. Remorse

Remorse is a nagging feeling that if it cannot be controlled can lead to madness…

10. Voodoo Rites

The song is about a vision of the apocalyptic end of the world, caused by all that we have done wrong in the world."

11. Snowblind

We leave this earth turned to a new destination. Just now we can realize what we have forgotten and the wonderful little things of life...

12. Headless Cross

This cover has been recorded to exalt one of our primordial loves, in this case Black Sabbath in Tony Martin age. It’s our little tribute to a legend!

Could you please tell us a bit about the artwork – who made it etc. and how important do you feel it is to have a cool artwork?

This artwork was made according to our needs and requirements with Dirtdesign Company from Verona. In general, the artwork must be the calling card of a disc, then as such, must transmit already an idea of what the listener go up to meet. In our case, this vial of poison pictured, recalls what the theme of our texts is: the evil in society in many shades. This poison has to be paradoxically the evil of every individual case.

Who and what has inspired you musically on this album?

In fact, the pieces come from ideas that we often blending in the head while we all doing other things... For example, if I'm driving and I get a riff, I record it with the voice on the mobile phone, and then I start to Work it on the computer at a later time.

How are people responding to your new album?

In every country that we were touring, the people have always manifested a very warmly greeting towards us, by singing and rocking to each piece proposed. What can I say! Each concert is always great!

Is there any track that means something special for you on the album?

The track that most excites us is definitely Lords of World. We love mid-time song with heavy riffs and orchestra. It’s fun to play with a devastating impact.

What’s the biggest difference between “End Of A Dark Era" and this one?

In contrast to the previous album, we worked a lot more with the orchestra as first. Then we studied the pieces in a slightly more elaborate, still maintaining the devastating impact of "End Of A Dark Era".

Sad news has come to my ears that frontman Ramon Sonato has left the band due to artistic and personal reasons. Sonato was a very gifted and powerful singer and is leaving some big shoes to fill. Can you reveal who will fill his shoes in the future?

At the moment we cannot reveal the name of our new frontman... But believe me, this will be great news and we are just excited! Follow us in late January, early February. There will be some good news!

However, we are already at work and in touch with him.

What’s next on your list, any tours planned, work on your next album…?

We’re currently working on our fifth album, also the first concept album of the band! Our drummer Camillo has already completed the drums record. After the Christmas holidays, Nick will start recording (still in his Remaster Studio in Vicenza) the guitar parts. We will finish recording by the end of March, we have much to work with!

Thank you very much for answering my questions. Do you have any last rants for our readers?

Many thanks to you! It has been a great pleasure! Your readers are recommended to follow our site and network pages. There will be big news very soon!

Thanks for reading, stay metallll!!

- Dave Cestaro


Tommy Skøtt, January 2013