Webpage: www.envinya.eu
Video clip: Forlorn
Review: 79/100 @ PoM.dk
Ever wanted to find out what inspired a particular song?

Was it based on personal experience or simply passive observation?

What happened in the recording studio or on stage to make one song sound different from the rest?

These are just some of the question bands and musicians attempt to answer in Line 'em Up - the newest page of The Power Of Metal.Dk.

This is where your favourite bands comment on their albums, track by track, because as someone once said, “Ideas are the building blocks of ideas”.



Here’s a chance for you to tell our readers about your new album “Inner Silence”.

But could you please start off by introducing the readers to Envinya?

Envinya – Envinya was founded in 2006 and has six members. We have different musical roots which I think is the reason for the typical Envinya style. Considering our music style I would say that we simply play modern Heavy Metal sometimes faster, sometimes slower but never too soft. Within the band we have a range of 18 years between the oldest member (that’s me) and the youngest one. This is quite unusual for a metal band but I like it.

At the end of 2012 Natalie left the band and now we will soon introduce our new singer.

Could you please give us some info on the album: Where did you record the album and who has produced and mixed it?

Envinya – We recorded it in a small village near Munich. During the recording process we had some serious problems with the guy who did the recording. But despite all the problems we achieved a good result. That’s all I want to say.   

And now onto “Inner Silence”… track-by-track, what inspired you, and what do what to express with this song etc.

01. Faceless

Envinya – It is the fastest song of the album. I think you can hear some of my 80’s Thrash influences. This is also the only song we have some blast beats in.

Most of the lyrics came from our former vocalist so I don’t have the deeper understanding of the meaning of the words. So I will focus more about the musical aspects of the songs.

02. Forlorn

Envinya – This is the oldest song. We wrote it in 2006. It is a very simple song with a hard main riff and a very melodically refrain. I don’t know how many times we played this song so far but I still like performing it. From this song we have also made a video. We had to work over three days only to have at last a 3:40 min video. But the result was great. You can see it on youtube.

03. Inner Silence

Envinya – The newest song of the album. Here you can especially hear the different trademarks of Envinya.  This is the slowest track I wrote for Envinya so far. I always try to create a special feeling within my songs so that the listener can feel these emotions. Maybe Inner Silence is the track you can hear best what I mean. It also has a nice refrain and like Swallow a good main guitar riff.

04. In my Hands

Envinya – a song who goes forward and who lives from a good hookline. This hookline was a little bit inspired by Iron Maiden. I also have some growls in this song. In the 90’s I played in a Deathmetal Band called “Internal Decay” where I was the shouter.

The message of the track is that you have your future in your own hands. Nobody is responsible for what will happen in your life but you. Maybe a lot of people won’t like to hear that but in my opinion it is the truth. So you have no excuses if your live runs bad.

05. Swallow

Envinya – Some say this song is a little bit chaotic but I think he is just quiet different from the rest. I like the mixture between the main guitar riff and the voice. There are a lot of things happen at the same time.

I also like the atmosphere of this song. It is a little bit melancholic but the lyrics have a positive message.

06. Satin and Silk

Envinya – This song works very well on the stage. It starts with the first guitar followed by the second one and finally the bass and the keys sets in. I like the sound of the keyboard because it is quite hard and sounds a little bit like techno. By the way the growls on this track are from Natalie.

07. Mirror Soul

Envinya – The main idea for this song came from Moni, our keyboarder. I like the song because it has a great tension from calmness in the beginning to a powerful climax at the end of the song. The lyrics are about the fact that a closer person can show you some aspects of your personality simply due to the reaction of your behaviour. Just like a mirror.

08. Too Late

Envinya – The song was written by Markus and it has a slow but groovy rhythm. It is our longest song on the album but I think you don’t feel so. I like the guitar solos after the second refrain because this part is very melodic. Within this song we also have a small part who sounds like Deathmetal. So this track is quite varied.

09. Beyond the Dark

Envinya – It is the title track of our EP. I think you need some time to get the access to this one. But once you have found it you will like it. It is one of my favourite songs on the album. Beyond the Dark has a lot of power, hard riffs and melodic parts. Also the singing line fits very well to the atmosphere of this Song.

10. Demorilized

Envinya – The final song of the album. Here I have again some growl parts during the verse and the refrain. Within the song there is a great guitar riff. I see this of course through the eyes of a guitar player. Demoralized goes forward and has some parts where only bass and voice play together. This gives this track some additional dynamic.

Tell us a bit about the artwork – who made it etc. and how important do you feel it is to have a cool artwork?

Envinya – Jan Yrlund from “Darkgrove Design” did the design for us. For us it is absolute important to have also a great cover for the CD. It all should fit together. Great songs, cool pictures and of course a good cover design.

Any last words you want to round this interview off with?

Envinya – First of all thank you for this interview! 

I wish everyone that they will find the kind of music that makes their hearts sing.

Today most of the people take music for granted. But remember this: Without Bands there won’t be music. So please support them.

Thank you!


Kenn Jensen, February 2013