Webpage: www.deadlandsmusic.com
Video clip: Deadlands
Review: 78/100 @ PoM.dk
Ever wanted to find out what inspired a particular song?

Was it based on personal experience or simply passive observation?

What happened in the recording studio or on stage to make one song sound different from the rest?

These are just some of the question bands and musicians attempt to answer in Line 'em Up - the newest page of The Power Of Metal.Dk.

This is where your favourite bands comment on their albums, track by track, because as someone once said, “Ideas are the building blocks of ideas”.



Here’s a chance for you to tell our readers about your new album “Evilution”.

But could you please start off by introducing the readers to Deadlands?

Deadlands –  Whats up metalheads! We are... lead vocalist Brian O’Connor (Consfearacy, ex-Vicious Rumors), Lead guitarist Michael J. Gardner (The Council), Lead guitarist Kevin Rohr (Spectre), bassist Steve “Dedbass” Northam and drummer Danny Sablan (HateFX, The Council).  We are Deadlands!

Could you please give us some info on the album: Where did you record the album and who has produced and mixed it?

Deadlands –   We recorded the album in out home studio and then to the tracks to Trident Studios in Oakland, California where it was mixed and mastered by Juan Urteaga (Testament, Machinehead, Exodus). The album was produced by Michael J. Gardner & Brian O'Connor.

And now onto "Evilution”… track-by-track, what inspired you, and what do what to express with this song etc.

01. Pandemic Genocide

Deadlands –  This song discusses pharmaceutical greed and our government trying to get us to subject ourselves to their cure-all injections under false pretences.

02. Deadlands

Deadlands –   This song is mainly focused on the fall of mankind set in a futuristic apocalypse with the rise of our own technology to blame.  Man and machine eventually combine, bio mechanically speaking, to continue surviving in a collapsed society.

03. Ground and Pound

Deadlands –   This is a straight forward MMA inspired fighting song. It's about personal strength and domination within the sport of professional fighting.

04. Final Solution

Deadlands –   Straight forward message about how when there is a major crisis going on in other countries the USA is always there to fight the good fight.

05. She's On Fire

Deadlands –   This song deals with prostitution and corruption influenced by the things a girl can grow up around.

06. Asphyxiate the Masses

Deadlands –   This is another song focused on government corruption and crookedness. We see a lot of this in the news.

07. Path We've Chosen

Deadlands –   Here we are talking about how the choices people make are the direct and sometimes indirect cause of what makes the future for an individual and for mankind as a whole. Some call it destiny and others call it fate.

08. Gone Wrong

Deadlands –   This song follows the peoples awareness of obvious government corruption and greed.

09. Legions of the Damned

Deadlands –   This song can be looked at as a simple Walking Dead Zombie themed song or as a song based on the idea of mutant life/people that are rising from the dead after an apocalypse.

10. Shed My Skin

Deadlands –   This song is about the failure of kicking drug addictions and the self destruction that a drug addiction can bring to the abusers and the people around them.

11. The Last in Line

Deadlands –   We all know what this song is about!  We wanted to cover a legendary song by the legendary DIO and do it DEADLANDS style in acknowledgement of how much we appreciate Ronnie's influence on us as musicians and the Heavy Metal world! We are very pleased with the results and know the fans will be too!

Tell us a bit about the artwork – who made it etc. and how important do you feel it is to have a cool artwork?

Deadlands –   This  album deals with “the evil of technological and social evolution”.  Topics such as humanity, government corruption, greedy pharmaceutical companies, prostitution, war, drug abuse, patriotism for our soldiers and spiritual warfare are all covered. The concept of the records art is a science fiction twist on mankind and machine coming together as one in order to survive and exist in a hostile apocalyptic world (and not necessarily by choice).  Peoples sences are greatly tied together by Audio and Visual experiance and so we felt that having great art that ties into our musical topics was a great way to show our listeners what we are thinking in feeling with the creation of this album. All art work was done by Erik Zombie.

Any last words you want to round this interview off with?

Deadlands –   Yes, please visit our website www.DeadlandsMusic.com and pick up our new album "Evilution" and a T-Shirt! You can also find us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/DeadlandsMusic stop by and say hi to us! We'll see all of you Metalheads out on tour!


Kenn Jensen, March 2013