LABIRINTO unveils new single “Agnus Dei”

The Power of webzine presents the exclusive DK premiere of the new single delivered by Labirinto.


“Agnus Dei (latin for “Lamb of God”) exposes the relationship between sacred and profane which permeates the formation of western thought, and our social and cultural organization, through one of the main elements of Christianity: the body of Christ.

Through this relationship and the materialization of the intangible, society searches for excuses for its flaws and evils, using it as another means of domination and coercion.

The track that opens the album is full of nuances, synth lines and heavy and intense bass/guitar riffs, marking the debut of the first ever song with vocals in Labirinto’s history.

We invited singer Elaine Campos because we share her feminist political activism and we’ve long admired her vocal work in other underground Brazilian bands.

Agnus Dei is one of the songs that best summarizes the concept and aesthetics of the new record.”

São Paulo’s LABIRINTO are not the spearheads of a vivid local scene, but to stay within the realms of post-rock metaphory, more of an isolated island within a vast ocean of nothingness. There is not much contemporary instrumental heavy music anywhere in South America. There are hardly any record labels and international bands seldomly make it over on tour. All the more surprising that this island of LABIRINTO has been releaseing records for 13 years already.

„Divino Afflante Spiritu“ is already the band’s 10th release, but only the 3rd full-length album. The band’s back catalogue is made up of a number of EPs and splits (with THISQUIETARMY among others), a detail which showcases the band’s strong roots in the DIY scene. Guitarist Erick Cruxen and drummer Muriel Curi, a long-married couple, have learned how take control of every aspect of the band’s universe themselves: from running their own record label to booking their own tours to running their own recording studio, the internationally renowned Dissenso Studios in São Paulo.


Hristos Eleutério – bass, Lucas Melo – percussion, Kiko Bueno – guitar, Luis Naressi – guitar, synths, Erick Cruxen – guitar, Muriel Curi – drums


01. Agnus Dei
02. Penitência
03. Eleh Ha Devarim
04. Demiurge
05. Vigília
06. Asherdu
07. Divino Afflante Spiritu


• 2018 – “Divino Afflante Spiritu” (Pelagic)
• 2016 – “Gehenna” (Pelagic)
• 2014 – Single “Masao”
• 2013 – Split w/ THISQUIETARMY”
• 2012 – EP “Kadjwynh”
• 2010 – “Anatema”
• 2009 – EP “Etéreo”
• 2007 – EP “Labirinto”
• 2006 – EP “Cinza”
• 2005 – Split Labirinto & Ordinaria Hit



Pelagic Records

Tommy Sonne Skøtt
About Tommy Sonne Skøtt 1877 Articles
I began my writing career in the year of 2012 due to my love for the metal community, and have since moved onto a second role as the Tech-Wiz of PoM - taking good care of our website. My favourite music genres are Progressive Metal in all its different shapes and Melodic Death Metal.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.