Magnum are an English rock band. They were formed in Birmingham by Tony Clarkin (guitar, songwriter) and Bob Catley (vocals) in order to appear as the resident band at the Rum Runner nightclub in the city. Magnum have undergone several changes in personnel over the years; however, the core of Catley and Clarkin remain.

Magnum’s most significant early success was Chase the Dragon in 1982, which reached number 17 in the UK Albums Chart. It included several songs that would become mainstays of the band’s live set, notably “Soldier of the Line”, “Sacred Hour” and “The Spirit”. On a Storyteller’s Night gave the band its breakthrough in Europe, and achieved a Gold certification in the United Kingdom. The band’s 1986 album Vigilante represented a move towards the mainstream due to production by Queen drummer Roger Taylor and David Richards. The band then achieved their commercial peak in 1988 when they entered the UK Top Ten for the first time with the album Wings of Heaven, which reached number five and featured three Top 40 singles, “Days of No Trust”, “Start Talking Love” and “It Must Have Been Love”. It was followed by Goodnight L.A., which was produced by Keith Olsen and reached number nine in the UK Album Chart in 1990. It produced another Top 40 single for the band, “Rockin’ Chair”.

In 1995, Clarkin announced Magnum’s split; he later formed another band, with Catley and Al Barrow called Hard Rain. Magnum reformed in 2001 and have released a further nine studio albums since then. Their most recent album, Lost on the Road to Eternity, was released in January 2018.

  • Kingdom of Madness (1978)
  • Magnum II (1979)
  • Chase the Dragon (1982)
  • The Eleventh Hour (1983)
  • On a Storyteller’s Night (1985)
  • Vigilante (1986)
  • Wings of Heaven (1988)
  • Goodnight L.A. (1990)
  • Sleepwalking (1992)
  • Keeping the Nite Light Burning (1993)
  • Rock Art (1994)
  • Breath of Life (2002)
  • Brand New Morning (2004)
  • Princess Alice and the Broken Arrow (2007)
  • Into the Valley of the Moonking (2009)
  • The Visitation (2011)
  • On the 13th Day (2012)
  • Escape from the Shadow Garden (2014)
  • Sacred Blood “Divine” Lies (2016)
  • Lost on the Road to Eternity (2018)
Kenn Jensen
About Kenn Jensen 434 Articles
When I kicked this site off back in 2003, I had no idea that it would turn into what it has become. I am very proud of what we've done and achieved over the years. Musically I have a soft spot for 80s inspired hard rock, but my favourite music and bands are all to be found in the progressive universe these days.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.