Something Wicked Marches In

Album Type:
Release Date:
29th March 2019
Record Label:
Season of Mist
Total Tracks:

Being a big fan of David Vincent, I’m sadly not as impressed with his first post-Morbid Angel studio recording as I’d expected to be.

One should think that greatness is bestowed upon this constellation of extreme metal stars. With guitarist Rune Eriksen (Aura Noir, Earth Electric and formerly Mayhem) as the procreator of the vision for Vltimas, Cryptopsy drummer Flo Mournier as the believer who followed, and finally the voice of thunder, David Vincent, to complete the unholy triumvirate of death metal, one should think that there’d be no stopping them.

The result of their collaboration isn’t bad as such. It isn’t the revelation I thought it would be, that’s all.

My main grievance is that ‘Something Wicked Marches In’ sounds like old wine on new bottles. Some would probably say that they want it to sound like Morbid Angel. I don’t. On the contrary. As much as I think Morbid Angel is absolutely amazing, Vincent has an outlet for playing Morbid Angel music, namely I Am Morbid. That’s a fantastic outfit. Saw them, loved it.

The old wine comes in becomes in because I think Vltimas’s debut carries a lot of the same feeling and sound that ‘Illud Divinum Insanus’ did, only without the industrial influences. If you listen closely, you’ll even notice that Vincent reuses phrases from the past (one example is ‘Total Destroy’ where he sings “Glory, glory”…haven’t we heard this before?). Truth be told, the first three songs, the title track included, sound more than anything like lesser Morbid Angel songs.

It is only with the two songs ‘Monolith’ and ‘Last Ones Alive Win Nothing’ that the Morbid Angel chains are broken. Both happen to by my favourite tracks off this album. These are different the way I’d hoped this album would be. They have a touch of black metal coldness, death metal, and at the same time David Vincent’s flair for catchy refrains. This is where the magic happens – I wish there would’ve been a bit more of this!


1. Something Wicked Marches In
2. Praevalidus
3. Total Destroy!
4. Monolilith
5. Truth And Consequence
6. Last Ones Alive Win Nothing
7. Everlasting
8. Diabolus Est Sanguis
9. Marching On

Playing Time: 38 minutes

David Vincent - vocals
Erik Runesen - guitars
Flo Mounier - drums and guitars

Thomas Nielsen
About Thomas Nielsen 1345 Articles
When my old buddy Kenn Jensen asked me if I wanted to contribute to the new site he had created, then called powermetal.dk, I didn't hesitate. My love for metal music was and is great. I wrote my first review during the summer of 2004 (Moonspell's 'Antidote' album). In 2015, I took over the editor-in-chief role.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.