Thy Art Is Murder

Dear Desolation

Album Type:
Release Date:
18th August 2017
Record Label:
Nuclear Blast
Total Tracks:

Sometimes, taking a break from something can be helpful. A work issue, home project, or homework can all look different after walking away and coming back later. I’ve heard this can also be beneficial in relationships, though I can’t see how, especially in any I have had. In most cases, just walking away is the best thing. This is what CJ McMahon was thinking when he left Thy Art Is Murder in December of 2015. Luckily, his departure was not permanent, as he rejoined the band a year later. They have now released a new album, Dear Desolation, on August 18, 2017 via Nuclear Blast Entertainment.

Anyone who is aware of Thy Art Is Murder knows they have long been one of the premier deathcore bands on the scene. This is especially significant considering just the number of quality deathcore bands coming out of their native Australia. Therefore, the level of anticipation for a new album from these guys is pretty high. This, combined with CJ’s return, make it even higher. This is where the preamble about taking a break comes into play. During the writing process for Dear Desolation, the other band members had already completed a tour without CJ, so they assumed they were moving forward without him. This uncertainty of TAIM’s future seems to have pushed the music in a new direction.

The ten tracks of Dear Desolation definitely have more death than core in the mix this time around. Whereas previously their songs would typically be focused on the breakdown, this album is more focused on the riff. Opening track/single ‘Slaves Beyond Death’ is a great example. Instead of running the opening riff into a breakdown, the tempo is actually kicked up a notch. Sure, there’s still a breakdown at the bridge, but they don’t dwell on it. Second track/single ‘The Son of Misery’ takes it one step further, elevating the opening riff to a blast beat, and barely breaks from it the entire song. This pattern continues throughout the album, with each track being built more from a riff than a breakdown. Not that guitarist Andy Marsh didn’t write smoking riffs before, but they just seem to be more prominent on Dear Desolation versus the breakdowns. Don’t worry folks, the breakdowns are still there and just as brutal as ever. ‘Death Dealer’ and ‘The Skin of the Serpent’ are proof. There are times where you think TAIM will fall back into their old pattern, like in the opening moments of ‘Man is the Enemy’ or ‘Fire in the Sky’, but then they never fully commit or cut left. This keeps things more interesting and the listener doesn’t get lulled into a breakdown trance.

Thy Art Is Murder has taken a nice step forward with Dear Desolation. By pushing their music in a more deathly direction, the songs have become more focused and sharp as ever. They are more angry than evil, like on the previous album, Holy War. Apparently, sometimes taking a break is a good thing, because that’s exactly what it took for Thy Art Is Murder to create their best album to date.


01 – Slaves Beyond Death
02 – The Son Of Misery
03 – Puppet Master
04 – Dear Desolation
05 – Death Dealer
06 – Man Is The Enemy
07 – The Skin Of The Serpent
08 – Fire In The Sky
09 – Into Chaos We Climb
10 – The Final Curtain

Playing Time: 38:22

Sean Delander – guitar
Lee Stanton – drums
Chris "CJ" McMahon – vocals
Andy Marsh – guitar
Kevin Butler – bass guitar

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.