Album Type:
Release Date:
9th June 2017
Record Label:
Epitaph Records
Total Tracks:

Every now and then, I get out of my comfort zone, to review something other than thrash, power, death, or progressive metal. I have a soft spot for Rancid, their punk based music is something I like very much, especially when it is almost holiday, and the weather is nice. The combination of the music, the sun, and the idea that there is some free time ahead does make life good. Their music is so addictive and it is impossible not to sing, dance, and shout along.

Troublemaker will sure spin a lot of rounds in my car stereo this holiday. The songs are catchy as hell, and the recognizable lazy singing style of Tim and the gang shouting sounds again very contagious. Fans of … and Out Come the Wolves and Indestructible will hear many tunes that made both those albums great. Like always, the songs are quite simple, and of course, there are some fine ska parts. The strongest songs are in my opinion ‘Ghost of a Change’, the punk rocker ‘An Intimate Close Up Of a Street Punk Trouble Maker’, the ska-pop song ‘Where I’m Going’ and the fast rocker ‘Buddy’. The only thing I have to carp about is that all these songs are on the first part of the record. The songs in the middle are just a little less exciting and less interesting. Fortunately, the last couple are again better, which prevents Troublemaker from fading out like a night candle.

With seventeen short songs on the regular album and two bonus tracks on the digital download, it is over before you know it. That is also the power of Rancid, short songs, easy to follow, and straight to the point!


01. Track Fast
02. Ghost of a Chance
03. Telegraph Avenue
04. An Intimate Close Up Of A Street Punk Trouble Maker
05. Where I’m Going
06. Buddy
07. Farewell Lola Blue
08. All American Neighborhood
09. Bovver Rock and Roll
10. Make it Out Alive
11. Molly Make Up Your Mind
12. I Got Them Blues Again
13. Beauty of the Pool Hall
14. Say Goodbye to Our Heroes
15. I Kept a Promise
16. Cold Cold Blood
17. This is Not the End
18. We Arrived On Time (bonus)
19. Go On Rise Up (bonus)

Playing Time: 41:00

Tim Armstrong - Guitar + Vocals
Lars Frederiksen - Guitar + Vocals
Matt Freedom - Bass + Vocals
Branden Steineckert - Drums + Background Vocals

Reinier de Vries
About Reinier de Vries 383 Articles
Once a metal head, always a metalhead. My parents thought it would only be a period, but they were wrong. I quit to explain the beauty of metal music to others that are not into metal, because it is something you can't tell in words... It is like explaining to a teetotaller why a cold beer is so nice on a hot day... I started with bands like Accept, Metal Church, Iron Maiden and Metallica in the eighties and I think I will still listen to them when I'm stone deaf and old...

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.