Quiet Riot

Road Rage

Album Type:
Release Date:
4th August 2017
Record Label:
Frontiers Records
Total Tracks:

Quiet Riot is probably best known for having two major hit singles in the mid-80’s, both being a covers of Slade songs from the 70’s: ‘Cum on Feel the Noize’ and ‘Mama Weer All Crazee Now’. The band has since overcome many line-up changes, and even the tragic death of original vocalist Kevin DuBrow hasn’t stopped them.

Drummer Frankie Benali has been a part of many of the Quiet Riot versions over the years, and he is the driving force in the 2017 version of one of Los Angeles longest serving heavy metal bands. On Road Rage he’s joined by another Quiet Riot dinosaur, bass player Chuck Wright, as well as guitarist Alex Grossi, who has also been a part of a couple Quiet Riot configurations. Many hardcore Quiet Riot fans will most likely be a bit skeptical of the choice they’ve made for the vacant vocal position: James Durbin.

James who? James Durbin’s biggest feat before joining Quiet Riot was finishing fourth in the tenth season of American Idol. Kevin DuBrow was the centre of attention in Quiet Riot and to try to replace him is an impossible task, but James Durbin is a good rock vocalist on his own, and he does a satisfying job on studio album number thirteen.

When listening to the album you can hear there’s plenty of room for improvement. The memorable hooks are simply not there, and only a few songs caught my attention. Quiet Riot has sadly been reduced to a shadow of its former self and I think many will feel the same kind of frustration I felt each time I listened to Road Rage, because they used to deliver heavy metal with big balls! This sadly is no longer the case. Road Rage is an underwhelming effort and not the most inspiring heavy metal/hard rock album you’ll come across in 2017.


01. Can't Get Enough (4:00)
02. Getaway (4:53)
03. Roll This Joint (4:30)
04. Freak Flag (4:01)
05. Wasted (4:45)
06. Still Wild (4:45)
07. Make a Way (4:30)
08. Renegades (5:37)
09. The Road (3:51)
10. Shame (3:51)
11. Knock Em Down (4:23)

Playing Time: 49:54

James Durbin - Vocals
Alex Grossi - Guitars
Chuck Wright - Bass
Frankie Benali - Drums

Kenn Jensen
About Kenn Jensen 434 Articles
When I kicked this site off back in 2003, I had no idea that it would turn into what it has become. I am very proud of what we've done and achieved over the years. Musically I have a soft spot for 80s inspired hard rock, but my favourite music and bands are all to be found in the progressive universe these days.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.