Municipal Waste

Slime and Punishment

Album Type:
Release Date:
23rd June 2017
Record Label:
Nuclear Blast
Total Tracks:

There’s quite a few of us who have eagerly been awaiting the new Municipal Waste album which is released this week. Slime and Punishment is their 6th studio album and features the addition of new guitarist, Nik Poulos.

This is the longest stint between albums the band have had in their career. Definitely worth the wait and I can imagine the circle pits already.

My particular favorite is ‘Death Proof’, no doubt inspired by the Kurt Russell character in Quentin Tarantino’s film of the same name, ‘Stuntman Mike’. Speaking of which, the more I listen to this album, the more I am convinced that driving while doing so could get me arrested for a DUI offence rather than reckless driving.

‘Parole Violators’ I can only describe as a fun soundtrack to a comic book prison escape. The addition of the dialog between the over-zealous and immensely satisfied cop and apparently reformed criminal is a good touch. Another highlight for me personally is the single ‘Amateur Sketch’, which the band have released prior to the album release. A very harsh, angry attack at a person who is, evidently, by no means up to the task of stand-up comedic entertainment and is instead himself getting ridiculed.

A 14 track album is over all too soon. It’s barely half an hour because the songs are mind-blastingly fast, and at the same time a lot of fun. It’s not exactly an untried formula to hit hard, fast, and heavy, and that’s what this is from start to finish.

However, it’s also a brilliant laugh, and the production is spot on, keeping things raw and aggressive. I have no doubt it will be very well received by punk and metal fans alike, not that the two are mutually exclusive.

Municipal Waste are starting a world tour tonight, beginning in the US with more shows to be added. Details of the tour as well as more information about the band can be found on their website.

Get out there and see one of the pioneers of the thrash metal revival!


01. Breathe Grease
02. Enjoy The Night
03. Dingy Situations
04. Shrednecks
05. Poison The Preacher
06. Bourbon Discipline
07. Parole Violators
08. Slime And Punishment
09. Amateur Sketch
10. Excessive Celebration
11. Low Tolerance
12. Under The Waste Command
13. Death Proof
14. Think Fast

Playing Time: 28:52

Tony Foresta
Ryan Waste
Philip "Landphil" Hall
Dave Witte
Nik "Nikropolis" Poulos

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.