Make Them Suffer

Worlds Apart

Album Type:
Release Date:
29th July 2017
Record Label:
Rise Records
Total Tracks:

I, as I am also guessing many of our readers, have temporarily become fixated on certain albums. For whatever reason they become somewhat addicting until the next brain monopolizing record comes along. For me, the last one was Siamese’s Shameless. I think I played that record on repeat for about a week straight, and I still find myself going back to it. My newest infatuation is the latest album from the Perth, Australia-based deathcore band Make Them Suffer.

Worlds Apart, released July 28, 2017 via Rise Records, is Make Them Suffer’s third full album since their inception in 2008. It marks a change in not only the band’s personnel, but also their sound. The personnel changes were Booka Nile replacing Louisa Burton on keyboards and clean vocals, and Jaya Jeffrey replacing Chris Arias-Real on bass. Lachlan Monty (guitar) also parted ways with the band. I think the change in sound is a direct correlation to these changes in personnel. On the previous album, the former members wrote many of the songs, so collaboration on those was non-existent. This is where the changes in personnel come in. The song writing process on Worlds Apart became more of a group effort, creating what sounds like a more cohesive album that flows much better from start to finish.

This leads us to the change in sound. There were many points on Old Souls were Maker Them Suffer would lean toward a blackened sound, a la Carnifex, especially in their gross use of blast beats and eerie piano flourishes. When the single ‘Ether’ was released in June of last year, we got a taste of what the new configuration of the band could do. The songs on Worlds Apart build upon this initial outing and come out even better.

The aptly titled opening track, ‘The First Movement’, utilizes Booka’s clean vocals and keyboards right away as a counter balance to Sean Harmanis’ gruff shouts and snarls. The upper mid-tempo beat also makes it an immediate head bobber. This sound turns into a trend throughout the album, as each track has just enough dark to balance the light. The mix of Booka’s purposeful keyboards and syths, with the occasional samples on intros, and guitarist Nick McLernon’s chugging riffs worm into your brain and won’t let go. ‘Grinding Teeth’ is great example of this, especially due to the tempo changes that DON’T focus on the break down. Lead single ‘Fireworks’ is another track, like many on Worlds Apart, which focuses on the melody more than the breakdown, and it pays off.

Make Them Suffer have really distinguished themselves from the deathcore pack with Worlds Apart. By giving their sound a little more core flavor than death, with a pinch of djent here and there, they have come up with the perfect recipe to get this album played repeatedly. Therefore, not only has Make Them Suffer created an extremely memorable record in Worlds Apart, but their best record to date.


01 – First Movement
02 – Uncharted
03 – Grinding Teeth
04 – Vortex
05 – Fireworks
06 – Contact
07 – Power Overwhelming
08 – Midnight Run
09 – Dead Plains
10 – Save Yourself

Playing Time: 40:43

Sean Harmanis – unclean vocals
Nick McLernon – lead guitar
Tim Madden – drums
Jaya Jeffery – bass guitar
Booka Nile – keyboards, piano, clean vocals

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.