Lost on the Road to Eternity

Album Type:
Release Date:
19th January 2018
Record Label:
Total Tracks:

Magnum has been a musical constant in my entire adulthood. I remember watching their “Days of No Trust” video on MTV and even though it’s a fairly simple video I loved it, and that was in a period of my life where close to 100% of the music blasting out of my speakers was thrash metal! Over the years they’ve been a sort of safe heaven, a band I could always to back to and get a solid dose of British Hard Rock, no matter which album I chose.

They’ve constantly delivered the goods and their bottom level has always been very high; some of my favorite albums of theirs include the Holy Trinity: ‘On a Storyteller’s Night’, ‘Vigilante’ and ‘Wings of Heaven’, as well as ‘Brand New Morning’ and ‘Into the Valley of the Moonking’, which all leads up to their new album ‘Lost on the Road to Eternity’.

Like so many times before the first thing you notice is the brilliant cover artwork, which has always been an important part of the whole package. Next is the music, which is once more exactly what I’d hoped for; this is pure and honest Magnum. Over the years they haven’t gone far off the path they chose more than 40 years ago, but they’ve managed to stay within the safe confines without repeating themselves at any point.

Even though there has been numerous changes in the line-up over the years and also leading up to this release, the core of Bob Catley and Tony Clarkin has stayed the same and the combination of the two remains their forte. And when it says Magnum on the cover you are surely getting just that! And we, the fans, wouldn’t have it any other way.

This album might be a little more epic than many of their previous albums with three very fine epic songs; “Welcome to the Cosmic Cabaret”, “Lost on the Road to Eternity” and “King of the World”, and there’s a nice special guest appearance by Tobias Sammet, but that’s just about it for them pushing the boundaries on this album.

Magnum helps kick off 2018 in the best way possible…

Cool album!


01. Peaches and Cream (4:56)
02. Show Me Your Hands (5:44)
03. Storm Baby (6:16)
04. Welcome to the Cosmic Cabaret (8:10)
05. Lost on the Road to Eternity (6:00)
06. Without Love (5:54)
07. Tell Me What You've Got To Say (6:26)
08. Ya Wanna Be Someone (5:57)
09. Forbidden Masquerade (5:02)
10. Glory to Ashes (5:34)
11. King of the World (7:04)

Playing Time: 67:30

Bob Catley - Vocals
Tony Clarkin - Guitars
Al Barrow - Bass
Lee Morris - Drums
Rick Benton - Keyboards

Kenn Jensen
About Kenn Jensen 434 Articles
When I kicked this site off back in 2003, I had no idea that it would turn into what it has become. I am very proud of what we've done and achieved over the years. Musically I have a soft spot for 80s inspired hard rock, but my favourite music and bands are all to be found in the progressive universe these days.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.