Life on Death Road

Album Type:
Release Date:
2nd June 2017
Record Label:
Frontiers Records
Total Tracks:

When you line up the best vocalists in heavy metal and hard rock these days, there’s no chance the name Jorn Lande won’t be included. He has single-handedly done wonders to mediocre albums, helped elevate good albums to great albums, and his contribution on any album he has taken part on is always done with conviction and professionalism at the highest level.

He has been a part of numerous projects and bands, and has also had a solo career going on at the same time. Life on Death Road is another hard rock album under the moniker Jorn. He has almost changed his entire backing band out since his last solo album, with only drummer Francesco Jovino returning. On Life on Death Road he has brought in three heavy metal and hard rock veterans: Mat Sinner on bass, Alex Beyrodt on guitars, and Alessandro Del Vecchio on keyboards.

The result is another solid hard rock album with a metal edge, which sadly has been the case with most of his solo efforts over the past seventeen years. The highlights are far between in my humble opinion, as his first two solo albums Starfire (2000) and Worldchanger (2001) remain his strongest. Jorn lande sings up to par with what we are used to and are expecting each time, his new band are technically sound, the production is good, but I still can’t get overly excited about the end result. It feels like some of the magic is missing. The only song that stands out is ‘The Slippery Slope (Hangman’s Rope)’.

Life on Death Road is by no means a bad album, but it doesn’t reach it’s full potential either. A solid hard rock album with another great performance by Jorn Lande is once more the result. Maybe we are spoiled little brats who demand magic on every album? Either way this is still entertaining for more than an hour and worth your hard earned money!


01. Life on Death Road (7:19)
02. Hammered to the Cross (The Business) (5:29)
03. Love is the Remedy (4:52)
04. Dreamwalker (4:58)
05. Fire to the Sun (5:04)
06. Insoluble Maze (Dreams in the Blindness) (5:39)
07. I Walked Away (5:04)
08. The Slippery Slope (Hangman's Rope) (5:29)
09. Devil You Can Drive (6:06)
10. The Optimist (4:52)
11. Man of the 80's (4:49)
12. Blackbirds (6:11)

Playing Time: 65:58

Jorn Lande – Vocals
Alex Beyrodt - Guitars
Mat Sinner – Bass
Alessandro Del Vecchio - Keyboards
Francesco Jovino – Drums

Kenn Jensen
About Kenn Jensen 434 Articles
When I kicked this site off back in 2003, I had no idea that it would turn into what it has become. I am very proud of what we've done and achieved over the years. Musically I have a soft spot for 80s inspired hard rock, but my favourite music and bands are all to be found in the progressive universe these days.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.