Don Airey

One of a Kind

Album Type:
Release Date:
25th May 2018
Record Label:
Total Tracks:

Today we look at the keyboard master. If you are a classic rock fan, then you’ve doubtless heard Don Airey‘s keyboards on records in the past. He is currently a member of classic rock icons Deep Purple, but his work can also be heard on over 300 albums, including work with Cozy Powell, Colosseum II, Gary Moore, Black Sabbath (and Ozzy Osbourne solo), Rainbow, Whitesnake, Jethro Tull, ELO, Uli Jon Roth, Judas Priest, amongst many, many others. Classic Rock would sound decidedly different without his keys.

As you will hopefully hear when you listen to Mr. Airey‘s latest, he has lost nothing over the passage of time. The majority of the tracks one here, save for a couple of ballads, rock with a fierce intensity exhibited by few of his peers nowadays. The tunes themselves are actually very good, including the opener, Respect, which is replete with keys, as it should be.

All Out of Line features some very cool vocal passages and is a muscular, funky jam. The title track is also very listenable, and should probably be considered for the next single if it hasn’t already. Every Time I See Your Face is one of the ballads I just spoke of, and it does have a couple of lead guitar bits that kinda save face, but as you can tell I’m not big on ballads!

Victim of Fate features an eerie intro and plenty of big, dramatic vocals, which seems to be a pattern here. Also on board are guitar solos and keyboard solos, of course. Running Free sports a beautiful piano intro and a mid-tempo journeyman rocking feel. There are solos aplenty, but is a bit ballad-y. Lost Boys, the featured video is an uptempo rocker. Want You So Bad is another ballad, but it is deceptive. It morphs into a blues jam! Children of the Sun is another uptempo rocker with guitars and keys aplenty.

Remember to Call is an exquisite long instrumental guitar piece. Very much a good showcase. Stay the Night, the closer, is another uptempo stab at FM. There is an awesome bass solo on this one. The vocals do a respectable close as well.


1. Respect
2. All Out of Line
3. One of a Kind
4. Every Time I See Your Face
5. Victim of Fate
6. Running Free
7. Lost Boys
8. Want You So Bad
9. Children of the Sun
10. Remember to Call
11. Stay the Night

Playing Time: 47 minutes 55 seconds

Don Airey - keyboards
Carl Sentance - vocals
Laurence Cottle - bass
Simon McBride - guitars
Jon Finnegan - drums

Rick Ossian
About Rick Ossian 24 Articles
My wife and I live in a small town in Nebraska. We both love to read and write. I also love to draw, mainly fantasy stuff. We have several cats and dogs.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.