Queen Of Time

Album Type:
Release Date:
18th May 2018
Record Label:
Nuclear Blast
Total Tracks:
, , ,

If there is one band that knows how to combine brutal raw music with sugar sweet melodies and folky melancholy elements it is Amorphis. With Under the Red Cloud I already thought that they made their best album of their career, but believe me, they didn’t. Queen Of Time tops it, which I thought would be an impossible job. The band even improved the typical Amorphis sound by adding orchestration and choirs to their music. This extra element is mixed in their music in such a subtle way that it never exaggerates.

The first track ‘The Bee’ is a typical Amorphis track with an etnic vibe, where the understandable grunting voice and the beautiful clean singing of Tomi Joutsen go hand in hand. The production and mix is marvelous, Jens Bogren did again an excellent job. Catchy melodies and folky elements combined with brutal grunts follow in ‘Message In The Amber’. There are several guest musicians like for example Albert Kuvezin in ‘The Bee’, sax player Jorgen Munkeby (Shining) on ‘Daughter Of Hate’ and Chrigel Glanzmann on flute in several songs. Also there is a duet with Anneke van Giersbergen in ‘Amongst Stars’, the combination of her angelic voice with Tomi suits very well.

One epic progressive highlight follows the other and in fact every song is worth mentioning, but sometimes words can’t describe the beauty and sensation of music. Yet I want to mention ‘Heart Of the Giant’ in which bluesy guitar parts, a keyboard solo and a choir form the perfect mix. For me this entire album is how heavy progressive melodic and melancholy music should sound like.  Amorphis worked this out to perfection and I will eat my shoe if this album will not be in almost every ‘End of the Year’ list. Tomorrow the album will be released and at the end of this week, it will be high in the charts of every self respecting metal country, mark my words!

Perfect music needs a perfect score: 10 devils!


01 The Bee 5:30
02 Message In The Amber 6:44
03 Daughter Of Hate 6:20
04 The Golden Elk 6:22
05 Wrong Direction 5:09
06 Heart Of The Giant 6:32
07 We Accursed 4:59
08 Grain Of Sand 4:44
09 Amongst Stars 4:50
10 Pyres On The Coast 6:19

Playing Time: 57:00

Tomi Joutsen (vocals)
Esa Holopainen (guitar)
Jan Rechberger (drums)
Tomi Koivusaari (guitars)
Santeri Kallio (keyboards)
Olli-Pekka Laine (bass)

Reinier de Vries
About Reinier de Vries 383 Articles
Once a metal head, always a metalhead. My parents thought it would only be a period, but they were wrong. I quit to explain the beauty of metal music to others that are not into metal, because it is something you can't tell in words... It is like explaining to a teetotaller why a cold beer is so nice on a hot day... I started with bands like Accept, Metal Church, Iron Maiden and Metallica in the eighties and I think I will still listen to them when I'm stone deaf and old...

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.